Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I followed the suggestion to add 2 bay leaves and 1/2 Tablespoon of salt and 1 teaspoon of pepper. I also didn't soak the beans over night. I did just for an hour and then rinsed and added the ingredients. I also used 4 cups of ham broth from when I cooked the ham. Ooooooh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used chicken broth instead of water like some of the others recommended. Hubby said it was good, it was a little different than we were use to. I would make again, but leaving the potatoes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is so easy. Better two days later. We used cubed ham, it isd had been from a ham bone it would have been a 5 star winner. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHEESCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garretson, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delicious and sooooo easy. Definitely add bay leaves and other seasonings to punch it up, but that's one of the nice things. You can season it to suit yourself!! I cooked it for 12 hours and it was creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I found this soup to be very bland, I added chicken boullion and then later added a ham hock to let it cook another several hours to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyoung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Overall I was very pleased with this recipe, although the first time I made it I took some users advice to add chicken broth instead of water, and I found mine entirely too salty, even with the broth watered down! I'd recommend to wait and see if it needs any additional seasoning first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
this was delicious! I can't wait to make it again. I did take some recommendations from other users and added salt, pepper, bay leaves and chicken stock. I didn't have ham and used a smoked sausage instead with great success. So comforting and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Cooked for 12 hours (but not necessary). Came out like stew: thick and hearty. Used cooked/shredded smoked turkey and chopped turkey bacon instead of pork. Added about half chicken broth/water. Added fresh minced garlic. Seasoned w/ salt, pepper, cumin, cinnamon, ginger powder to taste. Be careful with cinnamon and ginger. Want smooth and savory, not bitter or spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I love this bean soup! I add a bit more spice and that is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. The only change I made was to add a ham shank instead of the cooked ham. It added a smokey flavor that was out of this world. I made the recipe a couple of days ago, and I'm still amazed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States