Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I love you, Renee and your Grandma B! This recipe is an awesome base for my tweaking and I will be making this again in the not-too-distant future. For those out there who found the soup too greasy, salty or bland, here are some tips to help you along the way. 1)Don't use a ham hock, which tends to be too salty. Use a bone-in ham steak. 2)Sautee your ham to draw out those yummy juices and sugars. 3)Sautee your mirepoix in E.V.O.O., seasoning salt and Mrs. Dash. 4)Use 4C broth, 4C water and add a wee bit more salt and Mrs. Dash 5)Ham bone and 2 bay leaves in soup. VERY integral. I hope these tips are useful. Drop me a line if they are...bon appetit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAWineaux

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Solid recipe. I knew plain water would disappoint but instead of using cans of broth like other reviewers, I just threw in some chicken bouillon powder. This is a good recipe. I had never used navy beans before. After hours of cooking, I used an immersion blender to blend a lot of it which makes it creamier. But I did this before adding the ham. I had an extra red pepper lying around so I chopped it and threw it in. I think it made a nice color and flavor contrast. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
My husband and I love this soup. We had so much leftovers that we froze it and ate it a month later and it still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very good soup. Used others suggestions to add flavor. Cooked on low for 18 hrs. Pureed 2 cups of the mixture and added back in to thicken it up. Very easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Mike and Colby really liked this we ate it in one sitting! I did make it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellent and easy! I quick cooked the beans and threw everything in the crock pot. I also used homemade chicken stock instead of water and it only needed a little salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandi926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Not very good. Too much going on for bean soup for us. Everything sounded great, but didn't come together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I followed the suggestion to add 2 bay leaves and 1/2 Tablespoon of salt and 1 teaspoon of pepper. I also didn't soak the beans over night. I did just for an hour and then rinsed and added the ingredients. I also used 4 cups of ham broth from when I cooked the ham. Ooooooh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used chicken broth instead of water like some of the others recommended. Hubby said it was good, it was a little different than we were use to. I would make again, but leaving the potatoes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is so easy. Better two days later. We used cubed ham, it isd had been from a ham bone it would have been a 5 star winner. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHEESCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garretson, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States