Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe, but definitely did my own thing in addition, Next time I'll use less beans because the next morning, the "soup" turned into a pot of beans thanks to the absorption. I found lamb neck bones and browned those with the miricroix (sp) and used 32oz of chicken stock and water. The bacon fat didn't stand a chance with the aggressive flavor of the lamb, so next time I'll just use the lamb because it was delicious with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This dish is great, family loves it! As others suggested, I added chicken stock in place of some water, added bay leaves, and black and red pepper to spice it up. And, used diced ham steak with bone. My 19 year old son adds shredded cheese to his, and says it takes a "great" meal to "fantastic!" Some reviewers have commented about the beans coming out very mushy. Please note, beans have different cooking times, so can't necessarily be substituted without considering this and adjusting cooking time. For example, great northern beans take much less time to cook than navy beans. So, if you only have a few hours to cook this dish, great northern might be the way to go. However, if you are going to cook in crockpot all day and don't want mush, navy beans will work much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
As suggested by others, I added 2 bay leafs, a teaspoon of black pepper, and ham hocks to the recipe. I also substituted 1 can of chicken broth for some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I followed my directions but my beans were still crunchy-major bummer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Yummy...my version included chicken broth instead of water when cooking, and added several bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
this recipe rocks! i didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I cooked it on the stovetop rather than the crockpot, as I was short on time, and this worked out well. I'd soaked the beans overnight. I added 3 cloves of garlic and a bay leaf along with the onion, celery and carrots. I used 1 qt of chicken broth, and the rest water. I added some of the ham at the beginning, and more to taste at the end, along with plenty of salt and black pepper. I also added a bit of white cooking wine, some chopped parsley, and an all purpose seasoning called Spike. Delicious, as modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is very similar to my family's recipe, we add a cup of ketchup.... Ads a little more tang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
As suggested by other reviewers I used 4 cups of chicken broth and 3 cups of water and bay leaves. Omitted the potatoes. Added seasonings--salt, pepper, garlic salt and about a TBSP of brown sugar--at the end so as not to toughen the beans during cooking. The brown sugar gave it that subtle sweet/smoky flavor that I associate with ham and bean soup. I also cooked the beans with a ham bone from a leftover spiral ham and added the cubed ham after about 8 hours on low to retain the ham's flavor. Delicious with warm cornbread! A great basic bean soup starter recipe!--Susan C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Pretty good recipe I think I would leave the bay leaf out its to over powering and takes away from some of the other flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States