Grandma Betty's Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Yum, Yum, Yum! Please try this recipe, because if you love ice cream, you will love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
The cake tastes good, but honestly, it just ends up tasting like pudding with crust. Why go through the trouble? Also, 16 ounces of crackers was WAY too much. I ended up throwing half of the crust mixture away, and the crust I used was too crumbly because there wasn't enough butter for the amout of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
one of my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Great taste-- definitely had a different texture than most ice cream cakes due to the pudding mix. It needed at least 3 hours in my fridge. I followed suit and used a 12 oz box of Nilla wafers and cut back on the sugar and butter. I also put it in a spring form pan. To give it an extra kick, I put a layer of dulce de leche in between the Nilla crust and the ice cream. As much as I enjoyed it, I only gave it four stars because it got "goopy" very quickly and didn't make for the best presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I made this with cookies & cream ice cream with chocolate pudding with nilla wafer crust...I added the whipped cream with cherrys when I was ready to serve...so good the kids loved it:)Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
This is super easy and delicious! I also used graham crackers, butter, and sugar as other reviewers mentioned. I used a 1lb. box and had plenty of crumbs, maybe even a bit too much, to make a crust up the sides of the 13x9 pan. For the filling, I used cherry/vanilla ice cream with the vanilla pudding. Over the whipped topping, I sprinkled chunks of butter toffee almonds purchased in the bulk section. I used a mallet to break them into chunks in a plastic bag. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This is a great no bake dessert! I made a half recipe and used a 10" springform pan. I left off the whipped topping before refrigeration. It needed 3-4 hours to set. I served with fresh raspberry sauce, a dollop of whipped cream, and shaved chocolate. It was a hit. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
A MUST TRY!!! This is a simply FANTASTIC Dessert! I used graham crackers but either would be delicious. The key is letting this set long enough, least 2 hours. I did not and it was a little messy but no complaints, it was gone in no time! The kids loved it too! Thanks Lisa, this will be a fav in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Everyone loves this recipe! I use low fat/low sugar vanilla ice cream and I top the cool whip with crushed heath bars. If I'm low on time, I buy the already made graham cracker pie crusts. (For this recipe you will need to buy (2) pie crusts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
i used graham crackers instead of the buttery crackers, & topped with strawberries & bananas- they hoped tone down the sugary taste & it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States