Grandma Betty's Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This recipe looks like it will turn out similar to an ice cream/pudding cake a friend of mine made a few weeks ago that was amazing and I have been trying to find the recipe for. I made this recipe last night (Sunday) and put it in the freezer so I can serve it on Friday night for my in-laws who will be in from out of town and I don't have to worry about preparing it it while they are here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Amazing! I get so many compliments on this, and am told that it is better than DQ. I've made a few different versions of this, and really the options are endless! I made a cookies and cream version for my daughter's spooky themed birthday (Complete with knife sticking out the top, and "blood"), as well as a strawberry short cake version (Nilla wafers, strawberry ice cream, and I added fresh strawberries as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I didn't think it was as good as everyone raved! I froze chocolate cake as the crust and used cookies and cream ice cream with crushed Oreos on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Quite good, but I agree with reviewer Liz --way too many crackers for the amount of butter listed. I'd cut the crackers by 1/3 or 1/4. I used butter pecan ice cream instead of vanilla, which seemed to go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I have been making this cake for years the only difference is I use coconut cream pudding absolutely delish, try it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was a HUGE hit at a dinner party that I hosted, as well as a company cook-out! I used the graham cracker crust (only used 8 oz), and vanilla pudding with cookies and cream ice cream. Then topped it off with with the cool whip and some oreo cookies for some decoration on top. Everyon raved about it! Next timeI'll try the healthy route, and use frozen yogurt and fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budd Lake, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
It was unique, but I'd actually call it a pie, not a cake because of the crust. The ice cream actually took overnight in the freezer to harden with the pudding. But otherwise, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My mom has made this dessert for years and it's one of my favorites! It's simple, inexpensive, and delish! I don't get the picture though...the dessert doesn't look like that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was ok. Nothing special. I froze it because I wanted more of an ice cream texture...I used cookies 'n cream ice cream and chocolate pudding mix (both low fat) but my favorite part of the pie was the Chocolate Ganache I put on top (recipe by Ingridevogel).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by RTatl
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Really good. Very rich- can't eat a ton at a time. It really doesn't melt like ice cream cake, which is great when it's 100 degrees out. I made 2- 9" round chocolate cakes and layered with the chocolate ganache recipe here and crushed oreos. Froze this, then topped with this ice cream mixture. Froze again til stiff then frosted with whipped topping, ganache, and oreos. My husband loved it for a birthday cake and wants more! Very rich, can;t eat a huge slice. Way cheaper and better than dairy queen or Brusters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States