Grandma Betty's Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Everyone loves this recipe! I use low fat/low sugar vanilla ice cream and I top the cool whip with crushed heath bars. If I'm low on time, I buy the already made graham cracker pie crusts. (For this recipe you will need to buy (2) pie crusts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
A MUST TRY!!! This is a simply FANTASTIC Dessert! I used graham crackers but either would be delicious. The key is letting this set long enough, least 2 hours. I did not and it was a little messy but no complaints, it was gone in no time! The kids loved it too! Thanks Lisa, this will be a fav in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This is a great no bake dessert! I made a half recipe and used a 10" springform pan. I left off the whipped topping before refrigeration. It needed 3-4 hours to set. I served with fresh raspberry sauce, a dollop of whipped cream, and shaved chocolate. It was a hit. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
This is super easy and delicious! I also used graham crackers, butter, and sugar as other reviewers mentioned. I used a 1lb. box and had plenty of crumbs, maybe even a bit too much, to make a crust up the sides of the 13x9 pan. For the filling, I used cherry/vanilla ice cream with the vanilla pudding. Over the whipped topping, I sprinkled chunks of butter toffee almonds purchased in the bulk section. I used a mallet to break them into chunks in a plastic bag. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I made this with cookies & cream ice cream with chocolate pudding with nilla wafer crust...I added the whipped cream with cherrys when I was ready to serve...so good the kids loved it:)Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I used Nilla wafers mixed with butter for the crust. I've made this twice, using all natural Breyer's ice cream - once with vanilla and once with chocolate - they were both delicious. Put the cake in the freezer though, otherwise it is more like a pudding pie. It doesn't get too hard in the freezer. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
My Mother in law made a recipe similar to this for us. This was the closest recipe I could find online. I may try to submit a new one for this. Try it this way for a twist. Leave out the sugar from the crust, you don't need it. Instead of vanilla pudding, use pistachio. You get the sweet from the pudding, ice cream and whipped topping and then you get the salty from the buttery crackers (if you leave the sugar out). PERFECT combination!!! I think i may have eaten 1/2 of the pan myself. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRIAM01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I have been making this recipe for 20 years. It is wonderfull although dream whip is better in this recipe than cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAM9196

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Almont, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is hands down the BEST home made ice cream cake ever! It's the birthday standard in our house, though I have to say i've never really followed the recipe exactly! I usually use graham crackers (regular or chocolate) for the crust and have made the filling with lots of different flavors of ice cream. Mint chocolate chip with a chocolate crust has been the favorite so far. It's a great recipe for kids and creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Fabulous! I used Oreos instead of the buttery crackers. I Only used 3/4 cup butter with the Oreos since they have the filling. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panini goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solsberry, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States