Grandma Betty's Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I made this with cookies & cream ice cream with chocolate pudding with nilla wafer crust...I added the whipped cream with cherrys when I was ready to serve...so good the kids loved it:)Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
All I have to say is I love you Grandma Betty! This is an absolutely phenomenal ice cream cake (move over Dairy Queen. I used the basic recipe but then tweeked it to suit my tastes. I used a oreo cookie bottom and then added some homemade rasberry/blackberry sauce. I put the ice cream on top and instead of using whipped cream I crumbled a chocolate cake on top mixed with toasted peacans and some ice cream chocolate sauce. Then I drizzled the top with butterscotch ice cream topping. This cake was divine. I will never need to buy an ice cream cake again. The beauty of this recipe is that you can keep it simple or make it complicated and it is still incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
This is a great "cake"! Try it in every flavor. Use frozen yogurt and low fat milk to make it a little more healthy. I use vanilla wafers for the crust. A+++++++++++!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This is a great no bake dessert! I made a half recipe and used a 10" springform pan. I left off the whipped topping before refrigeration. It needed 3-4 hours to set. I served with fresh raspberry sauce, a dollop of whipped cream, and shaved chocolate. It was a hit. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
A MUST TRY!!! This is a simply FANTASTIC Dessert! I used graham crackers but either would be delicious. The key is letting this set long enough, least 2 hours. I did not and it was a little messy but no complaints, it was gone in no time! The kids loved it too! Thanks Lisa, this will be a fav in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RTatl
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Really good. Very rich- can't eat a ton at a time. It really doesn't melt like ice cream cake, which is great when it's 100 degrees out. I made 2- 9" round chocolate cakes and layered with the chocolate ganache recipe here and crushed oreos. Froze this, then topped with this ice cream mixture. Froze again til stiff then frosted with whipped topping, ganache, and oreos. My husband loved it for a birthday cake and wants more! Very rich, can;t eat a huge slice. Way cheaper and better than dairy queen or Brusters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Yum, Yum, Yum! Please try this recipe, because if you love ice cream, you will love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
All-time summer favorite at our house. I use low-fat everything in the recipe with a chocolate graham cracker crust. Plus, I freeze the whole cake so it is more "ice cream" than "pudding" consistency. I love it with fresh berries, my husband loves it as just plain vanilla. Gets rave reviews! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Everyone loves this recipe! I use low fat/low sugar vanilla ice cream and I top the cool whip with crushed heath bars. If I'm low on time, I buy the already made graham cracker pie crusts. (For this recipe you will need to buy (2) pie crusts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
i used graham crackers instead of the buttery crackers, & topped with strawberries & bananas- they hoped tone down the sugary taste & it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States