Grandma Betty's Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
A very easy recipe. I adapted to fit my family due to my children being allergic to nuts. I used 1 package butterscotch and 1 package vanilla pudding. I didn't mix any candy bars inside. Instead I opted to spinkle the top with a mixture of graham cracker crumbs and crushed butterscotch morsels...YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Yum, Yum, Yum! Please try this recipe, because if you love ice cream, you will love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
The cake tastes good, but honestly, it just ends up tasting like pudding with crust. Why go through the trouble? Also, 16 ounces of crackers was WAY too much. I ended up throwing half of the crust mixture away, and the crust I used was too crumbly because there wasn't enough butter for the amout of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
one of my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby Richmond-Reck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Great taste-- definitely had a different texture than most ice cream cakes due to the pudding mix. It needed at least 3 hours in my fridge. I followed suit and used a 12 oz box of Nilla wafers and cut back on the sugar and butter. I also put it in a spring form pan. To give it an extra kick, I put a layer of dulce de leche in between the Nilla crust and the ice cream. As much as I enjoyed it, I only gave it four stars because it got "goopy" very quickly and didn't make for the best presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I made this with cookies & cream ice cream with chocolate pudding with nilla wafer crust...I added the whipped cream with cherrys when I was ready to serve...so good the kids loved it:)Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
This is super easy and delicious! I also used graham crackers, butter, and sugar as other reviewers mentioned. I used a 1lb. box and had plenty of crumbs, maybe even a bit too much, to make a crust up the sides of the 13x9 pan. For the filling, I used cherry/vanilla ice cream with the vanilla pudding. Over the whipped topping, I sprinkled chunks of butter toffee almonds purchased in the bulk section. I used a mallet to break them into chunks in a plastic bag. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This is a great no bake dessert! I made a half recipe and used a 10" springform pan. I left off the whipped topping before refrigeration. It needed 3-4 hours to set. I served with fresh raspberry sauce, a dollop of whipped cream, and shaved chocolate. It was a hit. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
A MUST TRY!!! This is a simply FANTASTIC Dessert! I used graham crackers but either would be delicious. The key is letting this set long enough, least 2 hours. I did not and it was a little messy but no complaints, it was gone in no time! The kids loved it too! Thanks Lisa, this will be a fav in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Everyone loves this recipe! I use low fat/low sugar vanilla ice cream and I top the cool whip with crushed heath bars. If I'm low on time, I buy the already made graham cracker pie crusts. (For this recipe you will need to buy (2) pie crusts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States