Grandma Bellows' Lemony Shrimp Macaroni Salad with Herbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This has been my basic macaroni salad recipe for almost 40 years. I use more hard boiled eggs, frozen salad shrimp, omit the dill and use MiracleWhip in place of the mayo. It's the only time I ever use Miracle Whip! Make it a day ahead, except for the shrimp as the flavors meld and the macaroni tends to absorb the MW, you may need to add a bit more. Then gently fold the shrimp in before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I made this exactly as directed and it was excellent. Couldn't wait to eat the leftovers the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Absolutely the best pasta salad I ever made!! I used mayo light due to the calories and had more shrimp. I added the eggs chopped inside the mix because my family is not much for garnishes. The green onion, dill, parsley combo was outta this world! I had my doubts cause I usually make a heavier, more spicy pasta salad. Never again! This is our new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
so good! followed recipe exactly, except used two eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Wonderful!!! I use much more shrimp, hard-boiled egg, and all the other fixin's in the recipe because I like a really "full" salad :) I might even add some white lump crab next time hmm.... As promised, this is VERY refreshing, and light! Perfect for a summer's day. Thank you so much for sharing your grandmother's magic :) I've used both the canned shrimp, and larger frozen salad shrimp. Delicious either way!! I will use one or the other depending on what kind of event I'm attending, or throwing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I made this for my sister's fourth of July party. People were raving and even making sandwiches out of it! My dad and uncle had 4ths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Prepared this just as the recipe recommended. EXCELLENT!! I severed this to my family, at a BBQ and a work potluck - everyone loved it! For the best flavor, prepare the night before. Really yummy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Perfect when made as submitted. My only change was to use fresh shrimp. Next time, I'll try adding chopped avacado, too. This had lots of flavor. I'm not sure why someone had submitted feedback stating it was bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is SUPER delicious!!! I made it for a family get-together and everyone loved it, and I've made it a few more times since then. The first time I made it, I chopped the shrimp up, but I didn't like that the pieces were so small you couldn't really get a strong flavor from them, so the second time I left them whole and it was so much better. And I use some I get at the meat counter rather than canned. I also sub dried dill for fresh, and use about 1 1/2 Tbs, and that works well. I also double the lemon juice. One time I made these I had no eggs, and it tasted delish without them, too. Really, I think this is a hard one to screw up no matter what you do...which is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is salad is divine. I had second helping as it was so addictive. I used Japanese mayonnaise and thawed fresh shrimp. Added crab-meat as well. Added more lemon juice to make it more tangy and the result was excellent! Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States