Grandma Bellows' Lemony Shrimp Macaroni Salad with Herbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was the best pasta salad I have ever put in my mouth. Made it almost exactly as directed except for had to use dry dill and also used fresh cooked shrimp. Even my husband who hates macaroni salad liked it. Thanks for my new macaroni salad recipe. It's going to get showed off a lot this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Great salad - I made for Father's day and it was a hit. I made up the recipe on Friday evening (minus shrimp which I added on Saturday) and was concerned that the lemon was too much but when I tasted it on Saturday it was perfect. I did not add the eggs and used 51-60 count shrimp. I also added Old Bay instead of salt (I am from Maryland couldn't help myself). So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was wonderful. I used a bag of frozen salad shrimp and 4 eggs instead of 3. The kids even liked it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was such an easy dish for a newbee like me! The 1st time I made this I used small shrimps & I couldn't taste them very much. The 2nd time I made this I used medium shrimp & it was much better. I made it exactly like I was shown & it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fancypants

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonflower
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I used bow tie pasta since I couldn't find the pasta mentioned. I also added extra mayo, extra lemon, mustard & garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I think it's perfect as is - I love it and it's a hit anywhere it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
out of this world! delicious, so good. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I used fresh shrimp and elbow noodles. It was great and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
To call this simply a macaroni salad is a severe understatement. This is one of the finer mayo-based salads I've made in a long time. All of the components work in harmony ~ the perfect amount of crunch is achieved with the celery and onion; the fresh dill, parsley and lemon juice add lightness and brightness; and even tho' I used frozen shrimp as opposed to canned ... it's just an added bonus to find *any* shrimp in what appears to be an 'ordinary' mac salad. I'm sure this recipe could hold up to a tweak here or there... adding a smidgen of this or that.... but when something is perfect as-is, change is unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was very good. I've made this several times this summer already for picnics and it's always a hit. I have, however, made a couple of changes. I added crab to salad and used a bit more lemon and mayo than recipe calls for. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Kapp Ludlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States