Grandad's Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Yep, the best pancake recipe I've ever tried! Been looking for the perfect recipe for years. The batter consistency is ideal because it's easy to mix and cooks up quickly which is helpful when folks are anxious to eat. It was obvious my five year approved by the number he ate and when I asked him if he liked them he said, "No, I didn't like them, I LOVED them!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorri Eiswald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I added a little less milk, just added it into the dry ingredients until it came together. I love them, the dogs love them (They only get a bite) and my Nephew loves them too! That kid is as picky as they come, so that says allot for the recipe. Super fluffy, but also thick. For me this was a pure 5 star recipe, and I have made my share of pancakes from recipes off of this site. These turned out the best, thanks for sharing this family recipe. It was allot of sugar, though it was also allot of Baking powder, so it all evened out. Just like any recipe for any dough, add the main liquid as you go (In this case milk), never add all it calls for all at once. That's the best advice I can give.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBadger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Delicious! I added vanilla too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Fish

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I have to wonder when I read some of these reviews... I saw one that claimed the pancakes tasted funny because of the vinegar...what vinegar? There isn't any in the recipe. Another blamed the recipe for being too watery whereas another person who had that issue knew it was because of the altitude and adjusted. Don't you think you should be aware of the effects of altitude before you cook? Alternatively, runny pancake batter is necessary if you want pancakes with a larger diameter. Personally I thought these were great and I wish I could have made them as written as I think they would have been just as good that way if not better. I added blueberries because my son insisted. I also realized too late that I was out if canola oil (which is my oil of choice for pancakes) so I used raspberry infused olive oil in the batter and cooked the pancakes in butter. I figured cooking them in the fruity olive oil might be too much. I will definitely save this recipe and next time I make it, I'll only add the blueberries to my son's pancakes and make sure the recipe holds up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Chester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Delicious and simple. I substituted the whole milk with buttermilk and didn't add the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arossman3
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
These are great vegan! My son has allergies and I can easily swap out the milk for almond/soy milk and I use Bobs Mill egg replacer and they still turn out great. We generally add blueberries to the pancakes and they are a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Granddad knew what's up with pancakes. Love the density of them and they are sweet enough to not require a lot of syrup. My boys gobbled up twice the amount they normally would! These will become a Sunday morning staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teressa Monroe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Very nice!! easy & YUMMY, perfect for breakfast, snacks, and even desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Chow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
The family didn't like these at all. They didn't come out fluffy at all. They were flat and bland. I know my baking soda is fresh because I use it regularly. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca from LA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
My son cannot get enough of these. He comes in from school asking for them. They are so easy to make...especially since we have moved to Africa and there really isn't a ready mix. I bought the ready mix in the States and he would eat them, but never ask for more! I make it about twice a week. It is good in the fridge for about a day. Thicker on day two and just taste ok. (I try not to throw anything away!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States