Grampa's Coriander Turkey Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I used 93/7 ground turkey, so I knew that if even slightly overcooked, it would be dry. I watched it closely and, fortunately, it was cooked just right yielding moist patties. I was out of cayenne, so I substituted red pepper flakes which worked great. I liked the flavor of this sausage, but one thing I would consider in the future would be the addition of sage. Grampa, you did a good job on this healthier version of breakfast sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
The seasonings in this are really good - spot on. My only complaint from hubby was that is was a bit dry - I used very lean ground turkey. Crumbled in a breakfast casserole will be really good I am sure. Thanks for sharing your special recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. Have made it a number of times and now use it in my lasagne that calls for sausage. We can't have too much salt so I cut the salt. We really like fennel and now I add 1 1/2 tsp of fennel. If you don't like it too spicy hot, I suggest you halve the cayenne and add more if you like. My non stick pan handles this without the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Usually I change recipes to suit my own tastes, but this one I left as is and the outcome was phenomenal! This tastes just like normal sausage, my boyfriend couldn't even tell I had used turkey. I used this in stuffed mushrooms as well as in a strata and it was perfect. I am going to make my own sausage all the time now! And the added bonus is I don't have to feel guilty eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Yum!! So easy and delicious. Cooked some of these up with roasted potatoes, roasted broccoli and fried eggs... a great 'comfort meal' for a chilly evening. The coriander really does make it taste like sausage! I ground up whole seeds... lots of 'em. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Hooray for Grampa! I make this now so often I have the recipe memorized. I use it for turkey burgers. A great addition is to chop some fresh basil and mix that up in there too. And, yes, it still tastes great if you cook it and eat it right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
this was very good, I also subbed the coriander for sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSTEFANSKI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Struthers, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Used sage instead of coriander. Broiled in oven 4 minutes per side and topped with cheese. Absolutely fabulous! Tastes exactly like sausage but without the calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I have been trying to cook healthier, but wanted a heartier breakfast sometime, and I came across this recipe. I had 1 lb of ground turkey in the fridge, so it was perfect. It tasted pretty close to what I know as sausage, but boy was it peppery! When I measured out the spices I tried to use level spoons of the spices, because I was worried about all the pepper, red and black. To make even sized patties, I used a 1 tablespoon cookie scoop and did 2 scoops per patty and made 10. I am not sure how to change this, with the pepper. It might be just me, but whenever I have bought store bought patties I always bought the maple brown sugar sausage patties, if they have them. I may just like a sweeter breakfast sausage. But, they all got eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is are really yummy recipe. I sometimes change up the spices, adding sage, clove and ginger. It's just the taste that I have been looking for. Sweet, but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Sausage Breakfast

See how to make this savory breakfast casserole.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States