Grampa Dave's Texas Chainsaw Bar-B-Que Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
great sauce just as is, would not change a thing. if you want, could add heat if you want to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
very Good recipe, I added chili powder,gr cloves hot sauce, soy sauce and some liq. smoke. with the orange in the recipe I left out the lemon Juice. Has a very good color. I made a large batch & canned 8 1/2 Qts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
To give it a little bang add a medium sized Serano pepper. Also I used honey in place of brown sugar. It will be sweet at first with a little follow up kick from the pepper. absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Just a good as everyone says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Awesome BBQ sauce! We are from Texas and my husband is P-I-C-K-Y when it comes to BBQ! This is his favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This sauce is awesome. I used dried habenero for the red pepper flakes. I smoked chicken with hickory, then brushed the sauce on during the last 10 minutes of cooking on the grill. I also added it to the baked beans before cooking. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
We smoked some pork butts for our wedding reception dinner. (Yean I know real high class guy), And made Grampa Dave's Sauce to mix with the pork for pulled pork sandwiches. When it found out that I had made the sauce everybody was amazed. I took credit for it at the reception but when it came down to close friends I 'fess' up and gave the credit to Grampa Dave. Every one who has made it since then, has done nothing but raze about. Don't think I follow the directions actually as printed, but than I never do. Maybe that why some of my concoctions don't turn out so well. But the Sauce was! Thanks Grampa Dave!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was WAY too sweet. I did really enjoy the citrus flavor, but next time I will cut out the syrup, and half the brown sugar and molasses. I also added a teaspoon of hoisen sauce. I think I'll add more pepper flakes to kick it up a notch because it was sort of lacking heat. I do have to say that people were gathering around the stove while it was simmering because it smelled AWESOME! I will try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Oh so delicious, use to baste, for pulled pork sandwiches, delicious! Texans just now how to treat their barbecue! Maybe add some smoke flavor and it'll be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe for a plain BBQ sauce. I like to throw in a little ghost pepper to add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zinkoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States