Grammy's Overnight Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I have a made this recipe at least 5 times . This recipe is AWESOME. My boyfriend, family and friends love it! Thank you for sharing AuLait!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Love this recipe! I just made it again today for tomorrow & I just had a few noodles left in the box so I used a 9x9 pan & it work out fine. Can't wait to eat it tomorrow. It's so easy the first time I made it I had company & it was great cause I was able to make the main dish a head of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Howe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Terrific and very easy recipe! A word of caution.... If you are using a GLASS dish, DO NOT PUT GLASS DISH FROM REFRIGERATOR INTO A PREHEATED OVEN!!! It will break and create a huge mess, not to mention a ruined dinner. Put cold lasagne in cold oven and then turn on oven. (Of course this is not true of metal pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Bates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Really good!! I didn't want to wait overnight so I soaked my noodles (just regular and not oven ready,) in hot water while I started the sauce (about 30 minutes.) I did as the others suggested and added an egg to the cottage cheese and vamped up the meat sauce with basil, mined garlic and onion. I used two 24 ounce jars of sauce and omitted the water which made two 8x9 dishes... one to eat and one to freeze. Next time I'll add some italian sausage. I never knew how easy making lasagna could be. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Excellent! Made with these extras: Cook 1/2 cup diced onions and two uncased mild italian sausage with hamburger; and mix 1 beaten egg with cottage cheese. Also made on a Monday and cooked it on Wednesday and eat on it through the weekend; it was as good or better on the last day as the first. A "for company" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I have been making this almost identical recipe for over 40 years the only difference is in the choice of sauce - jarred marinara or whatever you prefer. I do add 2 or 3 shallots to the sauce, more basil, oregano, 1 full clove minced garlic and simmer with the meat for a full 20 mins (cooking the noodles and prepping the various cheeses) during this time. I prefer to cook mine right away to get those marvelous spices working and then I freeze the remainder in glass covered pyrex dishes. They stack flat in the freezer and take little space. When I want a quick dinner - unfreeze in the fridge while at work so when you get home cover wit foil pop in a preheated 300 degree oven and 1 hour later it's ready to go with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Yes, this is as easy and tasty as everyone says. But... the way this is written it sounds like there are only two layers and with a box of lasagna noodles, that leaves 6 noodles. So... I topped off with the remaining six noodles and covered that with a can of small diced tomatoes (since the sauce is already accounted for in the first two layers). Then I finished with the Parmesan cheese as directed. My version was veggie so I didn't use the ground beef. I only had a can of Hunt's spaghetti sauce which is 14oz and it still came out yummy. I didn't add egg to the cottage cheese (like other reviewers suggested) and, again, it came out fine. This is a wonderful recipe as is but better with your own touches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
So very good. My food critics (kids and hubby) couldn't get enough! Definately a keeper...and sooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This method has always helped me to make the best lasagne. Granted, I made a few changes, but not to the method itself. I tend to freeze leftovers of my homemade sauce and meatballs. When I have enough to put together a lasagna (about every 6 months), I make this one. I put all the defrosted leftover sauce into a pan, heat it, adjust the seasoning, then let it cool. I cook regular Barilla lasagne noodles 8 mins til al dente, then lay them on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking oil. I slice my meatballs into 3rds while half-frozen. I take one 2-lb container of ricotta, add 2 beaten eggs, 1-2 tbs dried parsely and about 1/2 tsp black pepper. I shred about 2 c mozz, and get out pecorino romano. I spray a 9x12 pan with cooking spray and make 3 layers over a cup of sauce spread on the bottom: noodles, ricotta, meatballs, sauce, mozz, grated cheese. The top (3rd) layer of noodles gets the remaining ricotta, mozz and grated cheese. Cover tightly with oiled tinfoil, then in the fridge til the next afternoon. Extra sauce reserved for serving. Let pan come to room temp 1-2 hrs before cooking. Cook covered 25 mins, uncovered 25 mins, with a pan underneath. Let sit about 15 mins and PERFECTION - turns out with perfect texture to noodles, not dry, and completely set up for cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This is very good!! I didn't change a thing in the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States