Grammy Faith's Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Use the same recipe, just a slightly different cooking technique, from an old Fanny Farmer Cookbook. It's wonderful! You can change the sweet/sour ratio by varying the amount of sugar to vinegar. This stuff is so good I'll eat leftover sauce out of the fridge with a spoon. It is also tasty on fish, spinach, and esp. corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was excellent! I didn't have a double boiler, so I just toss all the ingredients and follow the direction as if I had a double boiler. This would be a great dip for chicken fingers or as a sandwich spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Great sauce! I served it with our Easter ham (14 people) and it was a hit! I used about a quarter less sugar as it was sweet enough. I think the next time I make it I will add fresh tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Try this sauce with and old fashioned boiled dinner (corned beef, cabbage, turnip, potatoes, carrots, onions). I was glad to find this version after I lost this page from my Fannie Farmer cookbook. I did find it later and others may like this version, which is not so sweet: 2 Tbsp mustard 1 tsp flour 1 c light cream 1 egg yolk 1 tsp sugar 1/2 c vinegar, hot salt Blend mustard, flour and 1/4 c cream. Heat the remainder of the cream and add the mustard mix to it. Beat the egg yolk and add to 2 Tbsp of the hot mixture before blending into the pot. Add the sugar, cook until thickened. Add vinegar at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Waterboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Bravo all I can say...I don't often join sites but had to join allrecipes so I could comment..just the right amount of spice and sweetness, this will become a reg sauce on my menu and if it does become a little to thick for you add a bit of chicken stock yummy spicy and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This is a sweet/sour sauce with a very mild mustard flavor. It was OK but not what I was expecting. The next time I will cut the vinegar to 1/4 cup, the sugar to 2 or 3 Tablespoons and increase the mustard to at least 3 Tablespoons. I prefer a stronger mustard flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was surprisingly super good but a little thick for my taste. Next time I think I will cut back a bit on the flour but other than that its a good solid recipe and tasted awesome on our ham. I am going to try dipping chicken nuggets in it tomorrow for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Well, in the end I think I made a completely different sauce, but it was still really good. I obviously didn't pay close attention to the recipe when I started making it. I accidentally put 1 cup of SOUR cream. I also put a squirt of prepared mustard in, mostly for color, and because of the comments here, I cut the flour in half. Mine was still a little runny, but probably because I used sour cream. In the end, it still came out very yummy. A lot spicier then I expected....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKY7575

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
used this as a base for a pizza, and it was perfect. very easy. might add a touch more flour next time so it thickens up a bit more, but overall a great simple sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayfordlaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Very good! The only thing I might do differently next time is to use a little less flour the next time as it thickens up quickly and forms a skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States