Grammy Faith's Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Use the same recipe, just a slightly different cooking technique, from an old Fanny Farmer Cookbook. It's wonderful! You can change the sweet/sour ratio by varying the amount of sugar to vinegar. This stuff is so good I'll eat leftover sauce out of the fridge with a spoon. It is also tasty on fish, spinach, and esp. corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was excellent! I didn't have a double boiler, so I just toss all the ingredients and follow the direction as if I had a double boiler. This would be a great dip for chicken fingers or as a sandwich spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Great sauce! I served it with our Easter ham (14 people) and it was a hit! I used about a quarter less sugar as it was sweet enough. I think the next time I make it I will add fresh tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Try this sauce with and old fashioned boiled dinner (corned beef, cabbage, turnip, potatoes, carrots, onions). I was glad to find this version after I lost this page from my Fannie Farmer cookbook. I did find it later and others may like this version, which is not so sweet: 2 Tbsp mustard 1 tsp flour 1 c light cream 1 egg yolk 1 tsp sugar 1/2 c vinegar, hot salt Blend mustard, flour and 1/4 c cream. Heat the remainder of the cream and add the mustard mix to it. Beat the egg yolk and add to 2 Tbsp of the hot mixture before blending into the pot. Add the sugar, cook until thickened. Add vinegar at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Waterboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Bravo all I can say...I don't often join sites but had to join allrecipes so I could comment..just the right amount of spice and sweetness, this will become a reg sauce on my menu and if it does become a little to thick for you add a bit of chicken stock yummy spicy and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This is a sweet/sour sauce with a very mild mustard flavor. It was OK but not what I was expecting. The next time I will cut the vinegar to 1/4 cup, the sugar to 2 or 3 Tablespoons and increase the mustard to at least 3 Tablespoons. I prefer a stronger mustard flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was surprisingly super good but a little thick for my taste. Next time I think I will cut back a bit on the flour but other than that its a good solid recipe and tasted awesome on our ham. I am going to try dipping chicken nuggets in it tomorrow for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Well, in the end I think I made a completely different sauce, but it was still really good. I obviously didn't pay close attention to the recipe when I started making it. I accidentally put 1 cup of SOUR cream. I also put a squirt of prepared mustard in, mostly for color, and because of the comments here, I cut the flour in half. Mine was still a little runny, but probably because I used sour cream. In the end, it still came out very yummy. A lot spicier then I expected....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKY7575

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
used this as a base for a pizza, and it was perfect. very easy. might add a touch more flour next time so it thickens up a bit more, but overall a great simple sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayfordlaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Very good! The only thing I might do differently next time is to use a little less flour the next time as it thickens up quickly and forms a skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States