Grammy Burnham's Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
These cookies have become the "staple cookie" of our house. My parents especially enjoy them as both of them are unable to eat nuts or chocolate which many cookies contain, and they are always a hit around the holidays. The cake-like texture and delicate sweet-spicy flavor are the best. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Hazel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These cookies are excellent. I modified the recipe to make it a little healthier by using blackstrap molasses and 1/2 whole wheat flour, which I think also gives it a nicer texture. The dough IS sticky, though, and I think it works our much better if you chill it, roll it into balls, roll them in white sugar, then cook. They sold well at a recent work bake sale, and I got requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
These are the best molasses cookies I have ever had and believe me I have tried a lot of recipes. Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
My husband's favorite cookie--"just like mom used to make!" They stay soft and chewy in an air-tight container
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Great recipe! I made them slightly bigger then the walnut. so,I had to bake them about two minutes longer. Anyway, anyone that likes a cookie with FLAVOR will LOVE this cookie! They have a great kick to them! Go Grammy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Wonderful! I was looking for a crispy on the outside but chewy on the inside and this recipe is a keeper. I substituded butter for the shortening as I had none, the result was great I also lowered the sugar content to 1 cup, then I rolled them in icing sugar and the crackle effect is very attractive. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Scicluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Everyone loved these cookies! The first time I made this, I found the dough to be a bit soft, so I refrigerated it overnight. The next day, I made the dough into walnut-sized balls and rolled them in granulated sugar, as someone else suggested. Wonderful, and even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Sooo yummy. I used 1 1/4 c. sugar and used the remaining to roll the dough in. I chilled the dough for about an hour and then dropped (walnut sized) into the sugar. Each batch cooked for 10 minutes, which was perfect. One note.....don't even bother eating them the first day. They are so much better after sitting overnight! Store in a large ziplock and try one the next morning....it's worth the wait! Thanks for the great recipe....it's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I used this recipe last year as part of a thrice-traditional goody plate bonanza with my boyfriend. My mother loved them so much she asked for us to bake a special batch just for her! I must admit, it was JUST what I was looking for--a SOFT ginger cookie. I'm using them this year too--'specially for mom! A surefire hit every time. Kudos to you, Grammy Burnham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
These were SO yummy! Crisp on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside with the perfect crackly top. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States