Grammy Burnham's Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These cookies are excellent. I modified the recipe to make it a little healthier by using blackstrap molasses and 1/2 whole wheat flour, which I think also gives it a nicer texture. The dough IS sticky, though, and I think it works our much better if you chill it, roll it into balls, roll them in white sugar, then cook. They sold well at a recent work bake sale, and I got requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
These are the best molasses cookies I have ever had and believe me I have tried a lot of recipes. Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Wonderful! I was looking for a crispy on the outside but chewy on the inside and this recipe is a keeper. I substituded butter for the shortening as I had none, the result was great I also lowered the sugar content to 1 cup, then I rolled them in icing sugar and the crackle effect is very attractive. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Scicluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Excellent! I bake 3 times a week for my husband's crew and they loved these. Most said it was like cookies they used to eat as kids. I divided the dough in half...adding raisins to 1 half only. The other I left without raisins but rolled in powdered sugar. I did roll them in to balls then lightly flattened them on the cookie sheet for a more uniformed look. Amazing..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
A wonderful, rich, dark homey cookie. It's a little hard to tell how done these are due to their brown color--so leave them in a little longer than you think you should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Sooo yummy. I used 1 1/4 c. sugar and used the remaining to roll the dough in. I chilled the dough for about an hour and then dropped (walnut sized) into the sugar. Each batch cooked for 10 minutes, which was perfect. One note.....don't even bother eating them the first day. They are so much better after sitting overnight! Store in a large ziplock and try one the next morning....it's worth the wait! Thanks for the great recipe....it's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
I just recieved this recipe today by email and I made them right away with my 4 year old. They were dynamite. They were crispy on the outside and chewy in the inside. Great with a cup of milk and even better when us moms or dads have a minute alone to enjoy this heavenly cookie. Thanks SOOO much for the great recipe. PS also very easy to make and clean up is a snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
These were SO yummy! Crisp on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside with the perfect crackly top. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
These cookies turned out really soft. I loved them! I did make mine bigger so I didn't get 3 dozen but they were great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Delicious!! A cafe by my work sells ones like this and I was looking for a recipe to make them myself. I rolled them in sugar before cooking but also sprinkled them with it after taking them out of the oven to make them look nice. A huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States