Grammy Burnham's Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
These cookies turned out really soft. I loved them! I did make mine bigger so I didn't get 3 dozen but they were great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
A wonderful, rich, dark homey cookie. It's a little hard to tell how done these are due to their brown color--so leave them in a little longer than you think you should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I loved these cookies, I made them for my mom because she said she hasn't had a molasses cookie since her mom used to make them. She said they were better than my grandmothers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
Day one, pretty good, but movin' slow. Day two, these babies were GONE! This is an excellent cookie, soft and chewy with good flavor. Even my two year old likes them. Thanks, Hazel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
Very nice chewy cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Refridgerate the dough then roll in sugar. Make sure you use regular molasses, not mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Everyone loved these cookies! The first time I made this, I found the dough to be a bit soft, so I refrigerated it overnight. The next day, I made the dough into walnut-sized balls and rolled them in granulated sugar, as someone else suggested. Wonderful, and even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
These were SO yummy! Crisp on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside with the perfect crackly top. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Wonderful! I was looking for a crispy on the outside but chewy on the inside and this recipe is a keeper. I substituded butter for the shortening as I had none, the result was great I also lowered the sugar content to 1 cup, then I rolled them in icing sugar and the crackle effect is very attractive. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Rizko Dunsmore-Scicluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Sooo yummy. I used 1 1/4 c. sugar and used the remaining to roll the dough in. I chilled the dough for about an hour and then dropped (walnut sized) into the sugar. Each batch cooked for 10 minutes, which was perfect. One note.....don't even bother eating them the first day. They are so much better after sitting overnight! Store in a large ziplock and try one the next morning....it's worth the wait! Thanks for the great recipe....it's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States