Grammy Burnham's Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Tasty enough, but had a big problem of the dough spreading all over the cookiesheet, even after chilling the dough. I followed the recipe as is. Probably not one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This recipe produces a nice, soft cookie with a pleasant, light molasses taste, but I didn't love it. However, it was a big hit at a holiday party I attended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I was quite impressed with these cookies especially after the alterations i made. I tried to make them healthier and had excellent results to my suprise. I used half light margarine and half applesauce instead of the shortening. I used 2 extra large eggs and 1 egg white, 1 3/4 cup of white flour and 1 cup of whole wheat. The dough was sticky so i didnt roll it into balls i just dropped from the spoon. They came out chewy and soft and puffed up nicely in the oven! They do get fairly large in the oven so make your blobs of dough smaller than you think you should. i will make again! good low fat cookie for a craving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
YUM! I used blackstrap molasses and butter instead of shortening, and cranberries + currants instead of raisins. Next time I think I will use a touch less sugar, but maybe they will mellow out overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Best I've made in a long time. One thing, however- 12 minutes was a bit too long, so I kept them in for 7, which was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I must have done something wrong, although I thought I followed the recipe exactly. Who knows, I could have missed something, I was talking on the phone while baking. My dough was runny, and when I tried to make cookies, they spread out and I couldn't get them off the pan. I decided to bake them in a pan, as someone else suggested. The turned out fabulous. This is why I am giving them a 5. By the way, I frosted them with the all spice cream cheese frosting. Heavenly is all I can say! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Great flavor! My father in law just loved them, and he is a molassas cookie connoisseur! Don't make them too large, however. I used a med scoop on the first batch and they spread out to the size of a saucer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
These are so freaking awesome!!! They are sooo easy to make and really taste good with 'Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting' on them. I made a batch and took to work, everyone loved them!! They are a new must-have for my cookie jar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
These cookies have a great flavor and the dough was easy to work with if chilled. I found the texture less crispy and more chewy the following day, which is how I think molasses cookies should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I love to both bake and eat cookies! I was looking for a new molasses recipe and tried this one. I have to say it was NOT good. The batter was hard to work with. I tried to refrigerate it, and it still was a sticky mess. The cookies were very hard to get off the sheets, and even stuck together after cooling. I always follow a new recipe to a "t" the first time I make it, and adjust to our tastes from there. But this one doesn't need adjusting - it needs passed on! The FLAVOR was very good, if you don't mind them looking like brown blobs. Very disappointing. I also thought the raisins added NOTHING to this recipe - a good molasses cookie can stand on its own. My advice? Keep on looking, because this isn't "the one" you hope to find. Sorry Grammy - nothing personal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States