Grammie's Sweet Milk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
soft, milky, melt-in-your-mouth cookies! smells amazing, and actually tastes and smells like milk! instead of the soda/tartar, i just used 1.5 teaspoon of baking powder. i left out the nutmeg and used a mixture of butter and margarine instead of shortening (just because i didn't have shortening) i also added a tiny bit of vanilla extract. these are the only cookies i've ever baked where people asked over and over for the recipe. i actually had to print the recipe and hand it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
I substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg, and didn't roll it out but just dropped it onto a greased cookie sheet and sprinkled it with colored sugar. I baked them for 7 minutes. The cookies were fabulous. They would be great for with mix in: chocolate, white, peanut butter, butterscotch chips; or candy pieces, or nuts. Icing on top would be delicious. I'm going to make this a basic dough recipe for a wide range of cookies. It's not too terribly sweet, but wonderful dipped into a glass of cold whole milk. YUM! Oh, and I added 2 cups of flour like the recipe says, even though the author of the recipe wasn't sure. It worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Very yummy and different with the nutmeg flavor! I rolled them into balls and rolled them in sugar instead of cutting them out. Had to add a little more flour than 2 cups. DE-LISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
YUM!! These were really good. To make sure they are nice and chewy, only bake them until they are barely getting browned. We all loved these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDMCCLAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very good flavor. However, 1/2" is way too thick for dough. I will try much thinner the next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Delicious and old fashioned., Reminds me of the original Archway sugar cookie wih a milk based flavor. I lowered the over temp to 325'F and watched them very closely. Take them out once the edges begin to brown. They end up chewy and perfect. Thanks for this terrific additional to my holiday baking array! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth2doris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made these cookies at altitude (Denver) and therefore added a bit extra flour. They turned out perfect, but should be viewed as a base that should be modified to the baker's preference. I personally found them too sweet and would reduce sugar if I made them again. Perhaps someone could make them with less sugar, but then add sweet ingredients or top them with frosting. I also didn't exactly follow instructions and they turned out just fine. I threw all of the ingredients in the mixer and then dropped the batter onto the sheet. I love recipes that don't require exact steps to be followed and will still turn out well, so for this reason alone I would recommend this recipe. Just keep in mind that the author's "Grammie" probably didn't make it exactly and you may need to modify a bit to get exactly what you like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURBUJA0512

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I forced myself to ignore reviews and make these as directed by the recipe. The only thing I changed was that I didn't roll them. I used a small cookie scoop and rolled them in sugar. They worked fine, but they're a little boring. They're a lot like Snickerdoodles without the cinnamon - a bit boring. So I would recommend changing something. At least add cinnamon to the sugar coating and call them Snickerdoodles. Or trade almond flavor for the nutmeg maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
These were easily the best cookies I have ever tasted! loved the milk flavour...I liked that the ingredients were simple and the taste divine. The cookies turned out perfect... chewy and milky the first time I made good cookies. The kids loved them and my aunt is coming for coffee and cookies in the morning too I can't wait til she tries them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Even after adding an extra cup of flour, and chilling it in the fridge, I could not get the cut outs to keep its shape while I was transferring it from the countertop to the sheets. So, I just rolled them into balls and flattened them. They tasted good though. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States