Grammie's Sweet Milk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very good flavor. However, 1/2" is way too thick for dough. I will try much thinner the next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made these cookies at altitude (Denver) and therefore added a bit extra flour. They turned out perfect, but should be viewed as a base that should be modified to the baker's preference. I personally found them too sweet and would reduce sugar if I made them again. Perhaps someone could make them with less sugar, but then add sweet ingredients or top them with frosting. I also didn't exactly follow instructions and they turned out just fine. I threw all of the ingredients in the mixer and then dropped the batter onto the sheet. I love recipes that don't require exact steps to be followed and will still turn out well, so for this reason alone I would recommend this recipe. Just keep in mind that the author's "Grammie" probably didn't make it exactly and you may need to modify a bit to get exactly what you like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURBUJA0512

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I forced myself to ignore reviews and make these as directed by the recipe. The only thing I changed was that I didn't roll them. I used a small cookie scoop and rolled them in sugar. They worked fine, but they're a little boring. They're a lot like Snickerdoodles without the cinnamon - a bit boring. So I would recommend changing something. At least add cinnamon to the sugar coating and call them Snickerdoodles. Or trade almond flavor for the nutmeg maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Delicious and old fashioned., Reminds me of the original Archway sugar cookie wih a milk based flavor. I lowered the over temp to 325'F and watched them very closely. Take them out once the edges begin to brown. They end up chewy and perfect. Thanks for this terrific additional to my holiday baking array! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth2doris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
soft, milky, melt-in-your-mouth cookies! smells amazing, and actually tastes and smells like milk! instead of the soda/tartar, i just used 1.5 teaspoon of baking powder. i left out the nutmeg and used a mixture of butter and margarine instead of shortening (just because i didn't have shortening) i also added a tiny bit of vanilla extract. these are the only cookies i've ever baked where people asked over and over for the recipe. i actually had to print the recipe and hand it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This cookies were a snap to make- I used about 2.5 cups of flour. They were soft to roll, but plenty of flour and a spatula picked them right up off of the counter. I cooked them longer than some- about 15 minutes, maybe it's my oven, but they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
These were easily the best cookies I have ever tasted! loved the milk flavour...I liked that the ingredients were simple and the taste divine. The cookies turned out perfect... chewy and milky the first time I made good cookies. The kids loved them and my aunt is coming for coffee and cookies in the morning too I can't wait til she tries them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Wilkins
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
The result was some good cookies. I found them to be quite sweet and enjoyable. I look forwards to trying variations with this recipe next time I make it. The Details:I used baking powder instead of the soda and cream of tartar and I used goat milk instead of condensed milk. I had to add possibly 2 more cups of flour than recommended. I tried making balls and rolling them in sugar. At first, I did not flatten them and had to increase the cooking time a lot. The ones I flattened (with a cup as suggested by another review) turned out nicely. I did use stoneware, so the cooking time had to be increased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wilkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Even after adding an extra cup of flour, and chilling it in the fridge, I could not get the cut outs to keep its shape while I was transferring it from the countertop to the sheets. So, I just rolled them into balls and flattened them. They tasted good though. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I was intrigued by the condensed milk as an ingredient in a cookie other than a bar cookie. These were very sweet. Sprinkled turbino sugar on top. I didn't bother rolling out, just rolled into balls and pressed with the bottom of a glass. I did add vanilla to the dough and somehow they reminded me of store bought cookie dough. Thanks for allowing me to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States