Gramma's Party Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This turned out great! I used strawberry and vanilla instead of lemon and lime and tasted very good. However, I would consider adding more milk to the frosting because I feel it was to thick and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This cake was good. I used the strawberry jello and cream cheese pudding. I will say that the fat grams listed for the cake are wrong. If you mix the cake as directed there is 14 grams of fat per serving. Not sure once you add the milk and pudding, etc. But it's sure a lot more than 2.6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
was great... I used strawberry jello and vanilla pudding, and added a little strawberry extract to the icing... turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heartpockets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Can't be simpler. It a jello poke cake, but everyone goes crazy for it at my parties - they actually ask me to make it! I do use rick's buttercream frosting with it from this site and do two 9 by 13 cakes - one in a strawberry the other a lime this time I'm going to try lime and grape and use a cream cheese pudding mix in the middle. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
A fan-favorite. Experiment greatly with the jell-o and pudding, and don't be afraid to put more jell-o in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WCCLARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I'm sorry, but I did follow this recipe exactly and it was not too good. It tasted more like a pre-packaged cake than a homemade recipe from grandma to me, though others seem to have enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hipchickrecords

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I feel bad to give this lower rating, but I didn't personally like this cake. I didn't change anything about the recipe and I found it to be a little bland. I may try it again by using some of the suggestions of changes people have posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green River, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This recipe is even better if you use a lemon cake mix instead of a white cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This cake was so easy to make! I followed someone else's suggestion for strawberry gelatin and cheesecake pudding and it came out tasting so great! Everyone loved it! Leftovers tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rohrmoser, San Jose , Costa Rica
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Everyone loved this cake. I double the recipe and the cake was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States