Gramma's Old Fashioned Chili Mac Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Really yummy! As written, it is not spicy at all, kind of reminds me of the cafeteria goulash I had as a kid, but with kidney beans. The kids loved it. I doubled the noodles, cooked them right in the deep skillet with the meat/tomato/beans/veggies and just added a 5oz can of tomato juice for extra cooking liquid. Simmered for 30 minutes and done. Even better topped with sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Not a fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Surprisingly, my kids said it was too sweet. They decided it tasted like spaghettio's. My husband and I thought it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Nice and sweet chili mac. Did anyone else notice the picture shown with this recipe has no celery but does have corn. Not quite accurate, but very delicious looking. I'm GF so I combined tomato sauce with corn starch and sugar to replace the soup. I also added corn (looks nicer and improves flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Just what I was looking for! My son and I really enjoyed this recipe. Thank you Gramma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was quick to prepare but not that good to eat. I had to doctor it up quite a bit since it was pretty bland. I added some chili powder and worcestshire sauce. I didn't care for the tomato soup base either. It made for a very tomatoey chili mac. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
had to change it a little. didnt have diced tom. so i used crushed. added chili powder and taco cheese. also doubled the veg and mac. i thought it was pretty good hubby said it had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
excellent warm winter night dish ... fixed it as written except cooked all in skillet as the most helpful review suggested ... daughter said its awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I changed a couple things to suit what i had on hand. I didn't have any condensed tomato soup, so I just left that out along with the brown sugar. I don't keep celery on hadn and was out of green peppers, so those had to be left out as well. Still very tasty and with some added seasonings and spices like garlic powder and chili powder it's a tastey and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States