Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
very good! and that's coming from one who isn't a fan of dates! I happened to have some dates in the cupboard that I really wanted to get rid of, and this is the best way! :) even my hubbie didn't mind them. They freeze well, I 1/2 the batch in the freezer to have later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Mine came out a little bit dry, but that's because I used less butter and also mixed with apple sauce. But it was still delicious! Used 9" square pan and they only lasted 1 day. I added no extra sugar for the date mixture and added 1 t of vanilla. I will try again with orange zest, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Love these squares - I have already made them several times. Per other suggestions, cut sugar in half, skipped it altogether in dates, used 1 cup of butter, added one more lemon's juice to the date mixture, pre-baked the lower crust for 15 min, sprinkled dates with sesame seeds. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This is delicious! The crust is crunchy and crumbly and the filling is super sweet. After reading some of the reviews I made some changes to this recipe. Instead of pastry flour I used 1/2 of a cup of all-purpose flour and 1/2 of a cup of wheat flour. I cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 of a cup as well. I also used a 1/2 cup of butter and added in a little less than 1/4 of a cup of olive oil. For the date filling, I omitted the brown sugar and increased the water to about 2 cups as it kept evaporating. To make the filling chunk-free I pureed it in a blender. Then I added vanilla extract and cinnamon, instead of lemon juice. This is a great recipe that can easily be adapted to make it healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
tried these and found way to much flour in the recipie.My topping was not what I thought it should be,should have less flour and more rolled oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very easy! Everyone loved them & this is sure to become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Made these following the recipe exactly, they are a 5! Changed a few things, they were the date squares that were a childhood favorite of mine! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
my dad is coming for new years! one of his favorite treats my mom used to make was date squares. i just made them for the first time using this recipe......yummmmm very easy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Best Date Squares recipe. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States