Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
These are very good. I baked mine in a 7x11-inch glass baking dish and found the ratio of crust to filling to be just fine. I did bake the bottom crust for 10 minutes before layering on the date mixture and top crust and didn't have any problems with crumbling. Followed one reviewer's idea of cooking the dates in OJ (since I had some extra) -- won't do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I made a few cook errors but they still turned out quite yummy will be even better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
very good! and that's coming from one who isn't a fan of dates! I happened to have some dates in the cupboard that I really wanted to get rid of, and this is the best way! :) even my hubbie didn't mind them. They freeze well, I 1/2 the batch in the freezer to have later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Mine came out a little bit dry, but that's because I used less butter and also mixed with apple sauce. But it was still delicious! Used 9" square pan and they only lasted 1 day. I added no extra sugar for the date mixture and added 1 t of vanilla. I will try again with orange zest, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Love these squares - I have already made them several times. Per other suggestions, cut sugar in half, skipped it altogether in dates, used 1 cup of butter, added one more lemon's juice to the date mixture, pre-baked the lower crust for 15 min, sprinkled dates with sesame seeds. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This is delicious! The crust is crunchy and crumbly and the filling is super sweet. After reading some of the reviews I made some changes to this recipe. Instead of pastry flour I used 1/2 of a cup of all-purpose flour and 1/2 of a cup of wheat flour. I cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 of a cup as well. I also used a 1/2 cup of butter and added in a little less than 1/4 of a cup of olive oil. For the date filling, I omitted the brown sugar and increased the water to about 2 cups as it kept evaporating. To make the filling chunk-free I pureed it in a blender. Then I added vanilla extract and cinnamon, instead of lemon juice. This is a great recipe that can easily be adapted to make it healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
tried these and found way to much flour in the recipie.My topping was not what I thought it should be,should have less flour and more rolled oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very easy! Everyone loved them & this is sure to become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Made these following the recipe exactly, they are a 5! Changed a few things, they were the date squares that were a childhood favorite of mine! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States