Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Fabulous! Tasted great, nice texture (although as others have said, a bit crumbly) Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Make sure to use real butter and old-fashioned rolled oats, not quick oats. Husbeast LOVES these, and brags about them at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I used Lorrie's suggestions and these were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Soft, moist, and incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I make this every week for my children to have as muesli bars. There would be a riot if I did not. the recipie is fine as is, however I routinely make the following alterations and its sublime 1. Add 1/2 cup toasted slivered almonds, 1 cup coconut flakes and 2 tablespoons toasted sesame seeds to the crumble. Cut the sugar in the crumble by half (or double everything in the recipe but the sugar) 2. Add butter until the crumble is 'Crumbly' then divide your mixture in half. Add an egg-white (or two) to the half you will use as a base then if required more butter to make it 'mushy' bake this for 10-20 minutes until golden, this ensures your bars will never fall apart. 3. The date mix can be substituted for any dried fruit, I have also found I can mix canned fruit and dried fruit, and even fresh fruit and jam. As long as I have a wet but not runny spreadable consistency. The children beg for pear and raspberry, apricot and ginger, date and sultana, and love hunting the market for new flavor combinations. I tend to cut the sugar in the fruit layer as much as possible. I always saucepan cook it until I have a nice tasting mixture with the right consistency. 4. After spreading with the crumble and re baking I let them cool and then cut them into muesli bar size slices and store in the freezer for the children to take and put in their daily lunchboxes. They tell me they could make a fortune on selling them, but they don't care to give them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
LOVED this recipe, and so did my whole family. Not sure what kind of dates I used, as they were left here by a party guest and I didn't want them to go to waste (enter finding this recipe). I did bake the crust part for 15 minutes before adding the filling and topping as other reviewers suggested (thanks guys!), and I used a whole cup of semi-melted butter, but think it would have done fine with only 3/4 cup butter, and without the sugar added to the dates. They were very sticky and sweet as is. To quote Rachel Ray: YUM-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used pre-pitted mashed dates and these were SO easy to make! They turned out wonderfully, not too sweet and the perfect amount of chewy. My family loves them and I am saving the recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRobin58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Loved it!! I did cut back on the sugar and didn't add anymore to the date mixture. Have now made this recipe many times. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I used a bread pan since I only had enough medjool dates to make half of this recipe. Too bad I didn't go to the grocery store to get more dates for this great recipe. Based on other reviews, I added more butter and baked the bottom layer. The bars held together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlyn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
These were really yummy. They were gooey and satisfying and a great balance of sweet from dates and nutty from oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States