Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
absolutely delicious! Other than chopping up sticky dates, this was the easiest recipe and was extremely tasty!! I tried baking the bottom layer of "crumble" first and i did help make a more solid crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acellist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
TIP: After cooking dates whiz them with a hand-held, electric, blade chopper for excellent consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This is the best data square recipe I have ever found. As others, I eliminated the sugar in the dates. I also used melted butter - took some of the work out of mixing. Fast and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Delish! Absolutely divine while they are still warm and gooey. My subs: 1/3 of all-purpose flour with whole-wheat flour, halved brown sugar in crust, no brown sugar in filling, and cut out 2 Tbsp of the butter. I used the prior recommendation of 2 c. dates which came out just right. I also pre-baked the crust while the filling cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Great date squares. I used spelt flour and added ground flaxseed to make them a little healthy. I think next time I would add more dates too. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I thought it was very easy to make. I used whole dates and as there were simmering in the water used my sissors snipping the dates as they softened. No need to chop date prior to putting them in the water. I too will reduce the sugar in the dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Great texture and flavour! For anyone with some Mincemeat-Raisin pie mixture left over in the jar/fridge...use it instead of the dates or with them to the same measures. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I found this recipe about a year ago and have made it at least 25 times. It is absolutely wonderful and has a good fiber content. The only thing I do differently is that I don't add any additional sugar to the date filling as the dates are sweet enough. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
crust didn't firm up - fell apart in crumbly mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I liked the flavor and texture of these, but I found there was WAY too much crust/crumb mix. Instead of having these as nice finger desserts, they will have to be served in a bowl b/c they are very thick and huge. Next time I will make them in a 9x13 so they turn out smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCYNA77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States