Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I am rating these 3 stars because to me they were WHY too sweet! I probably would add maybe 1/4 cup brown sugar next time and thats it! Also they were a bit too oily! I love dates so i wanted to try these...i will make again without adding all the butter and sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I didn't change a thing and they are wonderful. I bought the 1 lb 'chunk' of dates. I didn't need to chop anything. Just simmered them until they were soft (added water as needed) and then mashed the dates right in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Shilo, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These should be called Amazing Squares. They are excellent, very delicate and rich in flavor. The only thing I would recommend is, after heating the dates I pureed them when they cooled and then spread them on the base. This is the only date squares I make now, it is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Okay...they were the last of my christmas baking to be eaten. I think I need to find a better recipe. They were fine tasting but didn't knock anyones socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Best I've ever had...these lasted NO TIME at my Christmas Eve Family gathering. I actually have to make more for my New Year's Celebration....Thank you...didn't change a thing, made as directed =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Excellent flavor! I substituted vanilla for the lemon, but I am sure that it would be great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These are delicious. I have made them twice. Too sweet?? What is that? I made them exactly as directed except the second time I omitted the soda from the crust. Also cook the bottom layer first in the oven and they will firm up. 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Oh yeah, I almost forgot, I added about one cup chopped pecans to the date filling after removing from heat. I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These squares had a good taste however very crumbly. When I want a square I don't expect to have to put it in a bowl and eat it with a spoon. If I could figure out how to make them less crumbly then they would be great because the taste is there. maybe I will serve this with Ice cream over top and eat it out of a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was sooooo good. I happened to find some aluminum pans at the grocery that were slightly smaller than 9 X 13 but larger than 9X9 and the thickness was perfect. Based on how mine came out, I would think that the 9X9 would be too thick. I followed other reviewers advice and baked the bottom layer for 10 minutes before putting on the dates and top layer. I also used the packaged pre-chopped dates to save time. They already had sugar added to them so I didn't bother adding the brown sugar to the filling. The recipe was so easy and delicious. They held together nicely and were moist and sweet and flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I couldn't find my Grandmother's recipe for date squares, but this one turned out to be exactly like the one I was looking for! Most and not too sweet, these melt in your mouth goodies are a great desert, and as a health freak, I like the fact that they aren't too bad for you! I omitted the sugar in the date filling, and it definitely didn't need it! I also substituted some of the butter with a lighter non-hydrogenated margarine. Other than that, the recipe was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States