Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These were pretty good. Not the best date squares I have ever had, but not bad either. Chopping the dates is somewhat time consuming, but the rest of the recipe is very little work. I would make these again as part of a dessert tray. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very good recipe but I did make a few changes. I didn't add sugar or lemon juice to the dates and didn't both cutting them. The filling still turned out perfect. I added an egg to two thirds of the crust/topping ingredients then pressed this into the bottom of the pan, then just sprinkled the remaining third on top. Although they turned out tasty, the top was too loose and shook off while you ate. I might add more butter to the recipe to help it hold together better next time. Overall, quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Huge hit at the office with requests for recipe. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I am rating these 3 stars because to me they were WHY too sweet! I probably would add maybe 1/4 cup brown sugar next time and thats it! Also they were a bit too oily! I love dates so i wanted to try these...i will make again without adding all the butter and sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I didn't change a thing and they are wonderful. I bought the 1 lb 'chunk' of dates. I didn't need to chop anything. Just simmered them until they were soft (added water as needed) and then mashed the dates right in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Shilo, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These should be called Amazing Squares. They are excellent, very delicate and rich in flavor. The only thing I would recommend is, after heating the dates I pureed them when they cooled and then spread them on the base. This is the only date squares I make now, it is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSANNA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Okay...they were the last of my christmas baking to be eaten. I think I need to find a better recipe. They were fine tasting but didn't knock anyones socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Best I've ever had...these lasted NO TIME at my Christmas Eve Family gathering. I actually have to make more for my New Year's Celebration....Thank you...didn't change a thing, made as directed =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Excellent flavor! I substituted vanilla for the lemon, but I am sure that it would be great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These are delicious. I have made them twice. Too sweet?? What is that? I made them exactly as directed except the second time I omitted the soda from the crust. Also cook the bottom layer first in the oven and they will firm up. 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Oh yeah, I almost forgot, I added about one cup chopped pecans to the date filling after removing from heat. I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States