Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
My mother's favourite recipe was misplaced when she moved and so, I was looking for a replacement. This recipe was the highest rated and rightly so. The date squares are delicious. The only change that I made was to increase the amount of water - The dates that I bought were in a package which was a little over a pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Henry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
So disappointed...I just made this recipe and it's all crumbly and falling apart... didn't hold together at all. It was very buttery and sweet tasting but it was the fact that it all falls apart and the top of the squares completely fell off each one that was the most upsetting...the flavour was ok but what a mess. Won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Out of nostalgia I made this recipe for myself not expecting the boys (11,14, 16) to like them. To my surprise they not only liked them they loved them and the entire pan of goodies disappeared in no time. Enjoy I did !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Awesome !! 2nd year trying this recipe. First time found it too much crust. So I tried again,, but instead of decreasing oatmeal and flour.. I keep it all the same,,, but just added a larger pkg of dates into a 9 X 13 pan. I also added some almond extract. No sugar in dates as others said,, as well as baking bottom crust for 5-10 mins before adding filling. With my minor adjustments it is the most perfect date square yet,, my "only" recipe for this now. Thanx so much !! Keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flin Flon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Very good! I used less sugar than the recipe called for based on others' reviews and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Sooo delicious and I especially loved the crust. So moist and melts in your mouth. I reduced the sweetness by using only 3/4 cup brown sugar for crust and 1/4 cup in the filling and was still super sweet. Next time I may halve the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I also did not use sugar with the dates. I used apple sauce, butter & coconut oil. It seems to hold the oats together(coconut oil). I also baked the bottom layer first. Thank-you very much for the basics, I just added my own touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lianabouchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Very tasty! I omitted the sugar from the date filling, and could have put less in the crust. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 x 13 pan, but this was too small, as it rises quite a bit. Like another reviewer suggested, I baked the crust for 15 minutes before putting the filling and topping on. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was an excellent recipe with just a few changes taken from previous reviews! I used melted butter in the crust and baked the bottom before adding the filling. I did not use brown sugar in the filling. Really really good! I love the crunch you get from using the melted butter. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Changed nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States