Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Followed to a "t" and love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This recipe helped me recreate a comforting memory of my own grandmother's date squares. I made only one minor adjustment, and that was a dash of vanilla extract (I went overboard) into the dates as I stewed them. They created a very gooey and rich bar, which may be too decadent for some tastes. Next time I try this I'll elect to use slightly less sugar, but otherwise this is a very simple and delicious recipe that any novice baker could easily take on. I am very happy with how they came out. NOTE ABOUT DATES: I had to pit my own dates, and I discovered a few had some sort of insect eggs and even a dead bug inside them and had to be discarded. It's not uncommon to find a few in a batch that have been infiltrated by pests, so BE SURE TO CHECK BEFORE YOU DICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitchsoup

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Doubled the recipe (had a few less dates on hand), used 1C butter/normal batch (So 2 C for a double batch) & baked in a 9x13 pan. Baked crust first while dates were cooking. Did not dice dates...cooked them whole, then blended briefly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
One thing I did in place of a portion of the water to be added to the dates, I added 1/3 cup of Amaretto and 2/3 cup of water! OMG the flavor! Altogether, great recipe! So easy and a great addition to Holiday sweets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
whenever I make these squares, while heating on the stove top I use my hand mixer and keep mixing, they come out smooth and they dont have any LUMPS at all. just a little tidbit for you'all WATCH for a little splatter, use a tall pot, its HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Loved the recipe, any chance of freezing these?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious ! will use this one every time, hubby of course had two big pieces !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chappymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is the best date square recipe I have tasted. Everyone enjoyed. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Rich and delicious!! Only made a couple of minor changes. Adding brandy was a real treat. I used all-purpose flour without a problem. Didn’t have lemon, but added a tsp. of vanilla. I used 8 oz. of chopped dates and 8 oz. of Craisins. Replaced half cup of water with good brandy. Added a bit extra liquid, because I had a tad extra fruit. You could do without the 1/3 C. brown sugar in the filling. Baked the bottom crumb layer at 350 for about 7 minutes, per other reviewers, then added the fruit and top crumb layer and baked another 25 min. Thanks, Michele -- will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Not hard to make and my husband who isn't big on sweets loved them. Tasted like a fancy fig bar really rich but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States