Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Changed nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Horning
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Delicious! Crumbly, buttery goodness! I sliced guava filling in the middle instead of the dates and they turned out wonderful. This recipe with be a staple in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Horning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Turned out great! Date squares are my favourite and you have to try really really hard to make a bad batch. Things I did because I can -no brown sugar with the date layer*** dates are natures sugar -added chopped pecans for a crunch - doubled amounts of lemon juice with fresh sqeazed lime, you can really taste it Things I will try next time -less sugar in the crust - give a higher oats vs flour ratio, it didn't seem look right -cook for 30 minutes, 25 isn't enough to give the crumble layer texture. Maybe it's my oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I doubled the date filling and used maple extract. I one and a halfed the crumbs and used a 9 X 13 pan. This was great! Thank you Michelle :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Made this last night and it was a huge hit! I didn't have pastry flour so I had to substitute with corn starch & all purpose. I also substituted with vanilla extract. I took my dates, sugar, water, extract, & salt and placed al items in the vitamin until it was chopped well. My kids swear they don't like dates, so I thought I would make it have a smoother texture. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I always use this recipe..I don't add sugar to the date mixture as like everyone says, they are sweet enough on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
The end result was somewhat soft. I even left it in the oven for 30 minutes, hoping it will get harder. Maybe less butter next time. It tastes very good, except the added brown sugar to the mix makes the topping sweet. Dates are sweet enough already. I would add some cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Great recipe, instead of using water and brown sugar for the filling i used pure maple syrup,and used half butter and half coconut oil just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Very good! We really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My hubby says they're just like mom used to make! I made a few minor changes also - a little less sugar in the filling and some chopped pecans to only the top layer. The bars were still sweet, but with a subtle nutty flavor on top. The best of both worlds at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nekoosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States