Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Rich and delicious!! Only made a couple of minor changes. Adding brandy was a real treat. I used all-purpose flour without a problem. Didn’t have lemon, but added a tsp. of vanilla. I used 8 oz. of chopped dates and 8 oz. of Craisins. Replaced half cup of water with good brandy. Added a bit extra liquid, because I had a tad extra fruit. You could do without the 1/3 C. brown sugar in the filling. Baked the bottom crumb layer at 350 for about 7 minutes, per other reviewers, then added the fruit and top crumb layer and baked another 25 min. Thanks, Michele -- will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Not hard to make and my husband who isn't big on sweets loved them. Tasted like a fancy fig bar really rich but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made these date squares, followed the recipe with out any substitutes or changes and I have to say the date filling is way to sweet. Even the children said it was too sweet! I think the next time I make these I will not add any sugar to the date filling and put only 1 cup of flour as some suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made these tonight, and they are very sweet and delicious. I highly suggest reading Lorrie's review before making these. I doubled the recipe and used a larger pan. I pre-baked the bottom oatmeal crumb layer for about 20 minutes before adding the date mixture. I used half the brown sugar in the date mixture and it was plenty sweet. I used Hadley's Medjool dates in the recipe. Very large, sweet and super moist. Spray the knife with "Pam" or coat with oil before chopping dates, and no mess! When cooking the dates, I substituted brewed coffee for half the water. You can't taste the coffee, but I think it adds a deeper layer of richness. My husband hates dates but wants me to save a few of these for him. Making the changes above and allowing to cool completely in the pan makes the bars very easy to cut and serve. So glad to have discovered this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
The most delish things I've ever eatten! Kid approved too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
The best date squares ever. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. Ohhh,I love allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good. I prefer recipes that use more oatmeal than flour, but they make a messy square, where this recipe is better for serving. Could use less sugar in dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These are ok. I made them because I wanted to use up some dates. They are a little too sweet for my palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great recipe , followed Lorrie's tips. Wow that's a lot of butter. Instead of lemon juice to the cooking Parnoosh dates, I added juice of an orange and zest. Also added chopped walnuts to topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
A friend made these for me. They are the best date bars I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States