Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
There are just like the ones my mother used to make. I increases the filling by 25% as I prefer more filling and less crust. One thing I discovered was how much the flavour and texture was enhanced by serving them warm. Add a scoop of vanilla ice cream and it becomes a heavenly desert! This is now one of our favourites and I will be making this for friends who are coming to dinner this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Butler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Followed to a "t" and love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This recipe helped me recreate a comforting memory of my own grandmother's date squares. I made only one minor adjustment, and that was a dash of vanilla extract (I went overboard) into the dates as I stewed them. They created a very gooey and rich bar, which may be too decadent for some tastes. Next time I try this I'll elect to use slightly less sugar, but otherwise this is a very simple and delicious recipe that any novice baker could easily take on. I am very happy with how they came out. NOTE ABOUT DATES: I had to pit my own dates, and I discovered a few had some sort of insect eggs and even a dead bug inside them and had to be discarded. It's not uncommon to find a few in a batch that have been infiltrated by pests, so BE SURE TO CHECK BEFORE YOU DICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitchsoup

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Doubled the recipe (had a few less dates on hand), used 1C butter/normal batch (So 2 C for a double batch) & baked in a 9x13 pan. Baked crust first while dates were cooking. Did not dice dates...cooked them whole, then blended briefly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
One thing I did in place of a portion of the water to be added to the dates, I added 1/3 cup of Amaretto and 2/3 cup of water! OMG the flavor! Altogether, great recipe! So easy and a great addition to Holiday sweets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
whenever I make these squares, while heating on the stove top I use my hand mixer and keep mixing, they come out smooth and they dont have any LUMPS at all. just a little tidbit for you'all WATCH for a little splatter, use a tall pot, its HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Loved the recipe, any chance of freezing these?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious ! will use this one every time, hubby of course had two big pieces !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chappymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is the best date square recipe I have tasted. Everyone enjoyed. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Rich and delicious!! Only made a couple of minor changes. Adding brandy was a real treat. I used all-purpose flour without a problem. Didn’t have lemon, but added a tsp. of vanilla. I used 8 oz. of chopped dates and 8 oz. of Craisins. Replaced half cup of water with good brandy. Added a bit extra liquid, because I had a tad extra fruit. You could do without the 1/3 C. brown sugar in the filling. Baked the bottom crumb layer at 350 for about 7 minutes, per other reviewers, then added the fruit and top crumb layer and baked another 25 min. Thanks, Michele -- will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States