Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by HoffMan
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I baked these up with some changes. I added pecans and took the tip from Lorrie about baking the bottom crust in the oven for 15 minutes. (I actually baked mine about 17 minutes.) I pulsed my flour, oats, pecans and other dry ingredients in a food processor with chilled butter. ( I didn't read Lorrie's tip of softening butter until this step was complete but the bottom turned out perfectly solid). I wish I would have skipped adding the brown sugar to the dates! They don't need sugar and I do think it diminishes the dates' flavor profile. Next time I will increase the dates to one pound. I added vanilla to my dates after cooking. I did microwave my remaining oat mixture a little bit to soften the butter before adding to the pan. All in all, we liked the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Perry, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This was delicious. Made it for my seniors group that I volunteer with. I try to make them things that they baked themselves or that were popular when they were younger. We call this matrimonial cake in Canada. I have never found a reason why. I baked the bottom as recommended and left out the extra sugar and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Baxter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mountainmamma
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I have made this recipe a few times in the past - but I should make it more. It's a winner and my husband LOVES them. I do make some changes as suggested in the reviews. 1 cup of orange juice instead of water, 1 tsp. lemon juice and dates cuts up with scissors (much easier this way). I did NOT add brown sugar to the date mixture either - like many reviews explained, dates are naturally sweet! I did not use pastry flour as I did not have any - regular flour worked just as good. I do not even know what the difference is? Melted 3/4 cup butter and added this to the oat / flour / brown sugar dry mixture. Either combine with your fingers or a wooden spoon. Baked the bottom part of the dry mixture in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes, then added the date mixture, spreading evenly. Finished off with the rest of the dry crumbly, buttery mixture on the top. Bake in 350 degree oven for 25 mins, let cool, cut and serve. It's excellent, they are sooooooooooooooooo (groan...Mmm ... oooOOOAAAOOOooo) mouth- wateringly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I cut the sugar by 1/4 from both filling and crust simply b/c dates are so sweet normally, I also had to cook it about 20 minutes longer but it is a keeper. I'm going to try figs in it next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Excellent recipe! I replaced the water, lemon and brown sugar with orange juice, and then cooked the dates in it in the microwave. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
You can make it better and here's how... 3 cups of oats for thicker base and top, 1 cup of flour instead of 1 1/2, one cup of melted butter, also add coconut and walnuts to your liking. Bake for 40 minutes. Add dark rum to the dates as well. People rave about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Great recipe. I wanted 9X13 pan so I increased flour and oats to 1/34 cup, butter to just under a cup, skipped the sugar in the dates but added 1/2 cup more water, 1/3 cup candied fruit, 1/3 cup currents, 1/3 raisins and some orange zest. I call them Improve date squares! Use your imagination and what you have in the pantry when it's snowing and you don't want to go out. That's how recipe's are made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucy
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
OMG these are great and i changed 2 things I didn't add any sugar to the dates I also pre-baked the first layer so that it wouldn't crumble as much. Love it thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Very good! Like another commenter I used a full cup of butter, did not add sugar to the date mix, and baked the bottom layer for about 5 minutes before completing the squares. These turned out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Aiken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
My mother's favourite recipe was misplaced when she moved and so, I was looking for a replacement. This recipe was the highest rated and rightly so. The date squares are delicious. The only change that I made was to increase the amount of water - The dates that I bought were in a package which was a little over a pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Henry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States