Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Oooommmmmmmggggggg this was great. Only thing undid different was put the raisin and apples in a small skillet with some butter to cook it it medium high so the apples and soften. This was oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This was awesome, I added cranberries and walnuts. I think I will make it for the next potluck at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This tasted good, but was too loose for my taste. (I prefer dense bread puddings.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe worked great and was easy to make, however, it was too sweet. I'd cut down the sugar if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this with persimmons instead of apples and it was a huge hit… would definitely make again with apples or any other fruit I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I scoured the reviews and here's what I came up with: I needed to use a 9X13 to feed 13 people, so I doubled it, mostly, but kept the brown sugar at 1 cup. I also omitted the raisins. I used about 9-10 cups of whole wheat sandwich bread. I only had two apples, which yielded 2.5 cups, diced. I sauteed them in butter for a few minutes. Then I heated all together: 3 cups 1% milk, 1/2 cup half-and-half, 1 cup brown sugar, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp allspice, 2/3 cup salted butter, 2 tsp. vanilla, and 4 eggs. I sprayed the pan w/ Pam, poured the bread in the pan, mixed the apples in evenly, then poured the warm milk mixture over it all and made sure all the bread was really wet. I baked it at 325 for an hour and it was perfect. If my family all liked nuts I would definitely put chopped walnuts in here. Here's the clincher, though: I made an easy caramel sauce (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Salted-Caramel-Sauce/Detail.aspx?prop24=RD_RelatedRecipes) and poured it on top of the bread pudding while it was still warm, but not hot. It was amazing. The sauce was sweet and the BP wasn't super-sweet, which was nice! Served it with homemade whipped cream. Even people who had no interest in bread pudding were having seconds. Next time I want to make it with chocolate chips and sliced bananas, omitting the cinnamon and allspice... Good basic recipe! UPDATE: made this 3x's in one week. Challah makes a world of difference! ALso, be sure not to 'cook' the milk/egg mixture, just warm it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Very nice recipe, easy to prepare and everyone loved it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It was tasty! I didn't make the sauce because I didn't feel like making it at the time but I don't see why I'd bother making it in the future seeing as how good it tastes without it. Will go back to this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I had 3/4 of a French loaf I need to use and a Belle's Hamburger Bun that I made and didn't want to waste. I also only had a granny smith and a couple of other apples. Other than that I followed the recipe. the taste like Grandma made it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Best bread pudding I ever had. I made it as written, except I added a little more cinnamon and some pumpkin pie spice, as someone suggested. Next time I would either use cinnamon bread or add triple cinnamon. I would not bother with pumpkin pie spice next time. I did place a pan of water in the oven like I do for cheesecake. It helps to keep things good and moist. I did not make vanilla sauce because I had a very good vanilla ice cream on hand that I melted in the microwave and poured over top of the finished pudding. The pudding baked for 45 min. Everyone @ the church breakfast loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States