Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Less bowls/steps = I sliced the apples very thin, and put them in a medium skillet with the raisins with a quarter stick of butter to cook them a bit. It plumps the raisins and makes the apples more tender. Then I drained the apple/raisins in a strainer over the baking dish, which greased it nicely, paper-toweling off the excess. Added the warm apple/raisins tothe bread in a bowl, stirred well and dumped into the dish. Then, in the same skillet I poured the milk, brown sugar, butter, vanilla (I used a whole teaspoon) eggs, and I added apple pie spice (could use pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg, allspice, any of those) to the cinnamon, and just stirred it all together over medium low heat until the butter melts as directed and pour it over the bread mix in the dish and voila! I baked it nice and long, til it was 'set' and deep golden brown on top. Wonderful wonderful stuff. If I had had some wine or brandy to soak the raisins in.. I would have. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Way too sweet. And I didn't even use the sauce part of the recipe. I will probably try it again, and add just 1/2 - 2/3 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
They were wonderful! I made them in muffin tins instead and it turned out beautifully! I didn't like the sauce though, it separated so I ended up just putting a little on top of each muffin when they were about 1/2 baked then finished baking them. I loved them and would reccomend the recipie to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This recipe is delicious and oh, so easy. As soon as it came out of the oven, my husband and I started eating it...couldn't wait for the sauce. Maybe, I will make it, maybe I won't. We are going to have it with ice cream on top or maybe Cool Whip. I will make this often, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
YUM!!!!!!!!! I used 1C raisins and I put the sauce on before the pudding finished baking. It tastes delicious....but would probably 1/2 the sauce if I poured it over the top again. I will definately be making this again and passing it on to everyone I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
the pudding was rather wet and watery though i baked it for more than an hour. it's pretty nice, but i think the ingredients should go straight into the greased dish instead of the bowl, in that way you can arrange it in such a way that the apples, bread and raisins go everywhere. also, i added a crumble of butter, flour and sugar on the top, and that was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Every time I ask my husband what he wants for dessert, he tells me this recipe. It's wonderful!! I like it with whole wheat bread, and I skip the butter sauce (vanilla ice cream is much better). When I make it for company I'm always asked for the recipe. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Really delicious- I packed leftovers in the kids' lunchboxes- the school nurse has to check lunches and she called and asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This smells so good when it is baking! It's easy to make and it tastes great topped with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
I did not use the vanilla sauce. I topped with a custard sauce instead. VERRY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States