Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
Excellent flavour combinations and texture with simple ingredients. This is a must for all apple & bread pudding lovers'recipe files. Good leftover too (if you can leave any). Nice way to use up bread. You're gonna LOVE this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
I did not have all the ingredients for the bread pudding recipe so I decided to make sauce to go over blonde brownies. It was excellent! So rich and buttery. I cooked it in the microwave instead of on the stove and it was super easy. I decided to run out and buy some vanilla ice cream to serve it with. I will definitely make this sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
Very, very delicious!!! I omitted the raisins and added 1 Tbsp. of Bourbon and 1/4 cup of chopped, toasted pecans. I did not make the vanilla sauce, but served it with vanilla ice cream instead. Also, I used mostly whole wheat bread with a little cinnamon bread thrown in. It came out great and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
This recipe was WONDERFUL. I recommend using a heartier type of bread like french bread or an Italian loaf (not sliced)like I did, rather than plain old cotton white bread. It is a mouth-watering, melt in your mouth combination of the sweet bread, and the baked apples in one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
Wow... I've been looking for a "new" dessert recipe and this is it! The sauce is marvelous too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
Good, Good, Good. What more can I say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Very tasty - I added dried cranberries and used a little less brown sugar. Thanks to Meshel's Gramma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
My son-in-law has a wheat alergy and we used spelt bread and it was a huge hit with the rest of the family as well as a welcome surprise for our son-in-law; he doesn't get many desserts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I liked it...but if you use a left over french-type bread, you will definitely need another 1 1/2 cups of milk & another egg as I did, because it's a bit dry. Also, try about 1 to 1/4 teaspoon of cornstarch in the sauce portion of this recipe because otherwise it's just runny. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of bourbon to this sauce - or you could add lemon juice - something to break up the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This is a really tasty, very easy and hassle-free dessert to make. My family enjoyed it very much. We'll be using it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States