Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Oh gosh, this was good! I had apples and bread I needed to use up. When I found this recipe, it was perfect. I substituted Splenda for the sugars (white and brown) and used low fat milk, but left everything else just as written. It was tasty and easy to make. Thank you, Meshel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I just wanted to use a little leftover French bread (enough for 2 servings of bread pudding) and was feeling somewhat lethargic. I didn’t even have the proper baking apples. So, I threw everything in a bowl (didn’t want to deal with extra dirty dishes), adding the bread and apples in after I had mixed the other ingredients very well. I had buttered two ramekins and spooned in the mixture and popped into the oven. I didn’t bother to make the sauce (too lazy); I just used vanilla ice cream. So, despite my unenthusiastic efforts, the dessert was excellent. Can you imagine how incredible it would have been if I actually put some energy into it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
WOW! Just brought it out of the oven and it is warm and gooey and delicious! I used some french bread that was going hard and granny smith apples, I didnt have raisins, and I didnt make the vanilla sauce (used whipped cream) but it is perfection! Will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Delicious! The kids asked for seconds -even the baby .... I only changed the method slightly trying to cut down on time and dishes. I simply microwaved the milk, sugar, butter mixture, then added it to the flavoured beaten eggs while constantly mixing. I then poured the wet ingredients over the dry and put it in the oven. It was ready to eat at about 35 minutes and finished five minutes after it was cool enough to eat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly,except I did not have any apples.It was great,perfect consistency.Next time I will use whole milk,I only keep skim on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mya schell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this for my husband and served it with vanilla ice cream. We both loved it! I omitted the raisins (personal preference) and baked it in a water bath based on other reviews. I'm not a great cook, but this was really easy to make, and turned out absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is great! I used rasin bread and did not use the rasins. My daughter keeps asking for me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I was disappointed with this one as it had such great reviews. Mine turned out very soggy and with an odd flavour. If I did something wrong that's too bad because I have no desire to even try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was wonderful! The only thing I did different was add an extra 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I did take some advice and put the bread, raisins and apples right into my (9x9) baking dish so I could spread them out nicely. I put the apples primarily on top, but next time I will put them more on the bottom. The sauce is excellent! We also put a small scoop of vanilla ice cream on top, outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States