Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was so good!!! As an alternative to the vanilla sauce I prepared a maple syrup sauce : Boil 1 cup water, 1 cup maple syrup, ½ cup brown sugar for 5 minutes. Combine 3 tbsp softened butter with 3 tbsp flour and gradually spoon in the syrup mix while stirring until it thickens. I didn't change the ingredients except I used butter instead of margarine and prepared it a bit different : combine milk and vanilla, add the bread and raisins, let rest for 5 minutes. Cream butter, brown sugar and cinnamon, add eggs and beat for 5 minutes. Combine this with bread mixture and add apples. I followed another reviewer's advice and placed the dish into a larger water dish for baking. PERFECTION !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myanka_dax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was real good. I added a bit of nutmeg to the pussing mixture and a bit of extra cinnamon and numeg to the top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I used skim milk and unsalted butter and this turned out really good! The only thing is that it seemed quite oily. I think next time I will reduce the amount of butter or use applesauce in place of the margarine. Overall, pretty good! And ditto on the house smelling amazing while it was baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made this on the first day of fall. I had some stale whole wheat italian bread and some fresh apples. I cut the sugar in half by substituting Splenda, and it tasted great. Also, I used the full amount of milk, but let the bread cubes absorb it for about 15 minutes before baking. Then I poured on the egg mixture and baked it. My family loved it. This was easy to throw together with ingredients I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I just finished baking this apple bread pudding and it came out moist and delicous. I changed a few things, I put butter instead of margarine and used cranberries and walnuts instead of raisins. I also only had 12 grain sliced toast bread and I believe gave it a more rustic taste. Read most of the reviews so I ended up adding less milk to only 1 cup and it was great. I will be making this one again and again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpeaveronica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
i have been making this recipe for several years. absolutely love it. saw an emeril show just before i made it, he said to soak the bread in the custard mixture for about 20 minutes before baking which i did. works great, the only change i ever made was doubling the vanilla.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I had some pears to use up and I couldn't find any "pear bread pudding" recipe that I liked. So I decided to go with this except use pear for apple. I followed the recipe exactly while using left-over whole wheat sliced breads and adding 1t of brandy extract and handful of toasted, chopped walnuts. Used light cream instead of milk and sprinkled ground ginger on top along with some honey before putting in oven. It did take longer than stated time here, but that might be because I placed about a cup of water underneath the baking dish. Didn't make the sauce, but it was still delicious. Next time I will try with apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was very good. I stuck to the recipe for the most part. I used cinnamon raisin bread so I didn't have to add any additional raisins. I made the sauce as instructed but then I added some caramel and a splash of brandy. It smells wonderful while baking! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Instead of directly following the recipe, I used CATJENKINS's steps and found out it saved me a lot of time. Also, I will have to double the recipe next time because my bread pudding was less than an inch thick. Also the time set was a little too long because my bread pudding came out slightly burnt, which might be because of its thinnest. Will try it again since my family liked it so much last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This came out great - I had a TON of left over homemade challah bread and ended up throwing in a bit more (still have some left)and that seemed to take care of the undone problem that some reviewers have mentioned. Other than that, it came out great - I did it just as the directions said. And YES - it DID make my house smell AMAZING!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States