Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made this on the first day of fall. I had some stale whole wheat italian bread and some fresh apples. I cut the sugar in half by substituting Splenda, and it tasted great. Also, I used the full amount of milk, but let the bread cubes absorb it for about 15 minutes before baking. Then I poured on the egg mixture and baked it. My family loved it. This was easy to throw together with ingredients I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I just finished baking this apple bread pudding and it came out moist and delicous. I changed a few things, I put butter instead of margarine and used cranberries and walnuts instead of raisins. I also only had 12 grain sliced toast bread and I believe gave it a more rustic taste. Read most of the reviews so I ended up adding less milk to only 1 cup and it was great. I will be making this one again and again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpeaveronica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
i have been making this recipe for several years. absolutely love it. saw an emeril show just before i made it, he said to soak the bread in the custard mixture for about 20 minutes before baking which i did. works great, the only change i ever made was doubling the vanilla.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I had some pears to use up and I couldn't find any "pear bread pudding" recipe that I liked. So I decided to go with this except use pear for apple. I followed the recipe exactly while using left-over whole wheat sliced breads and adding 1t of brandy extract and handful of toasted, chopped walnuts. Used light cream instead of milk and sprinkled ground ginger on top along with some honey before putting in oven. It did take longer than stated time here, but that might be because I placed about a cup of water underneath the baking dish. Didn't make the sauce, but it was still delicious. Next time I will try with apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was very good. I stuck to the recipe for the most part. I used cinnamon raisin bread so I didn't have to add any additional raisins. I made the sauce as instructed but then I added some caramel and a splash of brandy. It smells wonderful while baking! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Instead of directly following the recipe, I used CATJENKINS's steps and found out it saved me a lot of time. Also, I will have to double the recipe next time because my bread pudding was less than an inch thick. Also the time set was a little too long because my bread pudding came out slightly burnt, which might be because of its thinnest. Will try it again since my family liked it so much last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This came out great - I had a TON of left over homemade challah bread and ended up throwing in a bit more (still have some left)and that seemed to take care of the undone problem that some reviewers have mentioned. Other than that, it came out great - I did it just as the directions said. And YES - it DID make my house smell AMAZING!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Yummy! I actually made it with Strawberries rather than Apples. Wonderful and I was skeptical with some of the reviews I had read. But I loved the very moist texture. I was also nervous because both stovetop mixtures included milk and they curdled a little. But that didn't make any difference in the final product. But I did add about a tsp. of corn starch to the sauce to thicken it a little more. Overall - Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
A big hit at dinner last night. Served it to a house full of guests and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I have made this twice and it has come out wonderful each time. My boyfriend LOVES it. It's best if you use cubes of an older Italian bread loaf. I'd never tried it before this recipe, but now doubt I'll ever use anything else. It is a little custardy, due to the egg mixture, but that just makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States