Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made this and it was delicious! I made only small changes, based on the advice of other reviewers: added ginger, allspice, and nutmeg. I also didn't peel the apples because that seemed like too much work, but I prefer it that way! I used sweet honey crisp apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Although I generally dislike bread pudding, this is a very good recipe for it. I used pears instead of apples, and cooked the fruit separately with a bit of sugar. I also needed to use about 1/4 c. of extra milk to keep the bread soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Great recipe to use up leftover bread and extra apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Totally doesn't even need the sauce. If you want sauce though, i would just drizzle maple syrup over it. So delicious. i used a 9 x 13 pan of this recipe and it was not to soggy or to dry. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Yummo! In Louisiana we eat bread pudding often, and it closely resembled the taste you may find in a restaurant. It was super easy too. I sliced the apples really thin, and baked in a 9x13 pan since I didn't have a 7x11. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I cut the recipe in half; did not use raisins or the vanilla sauce. Served with homemade cinnamon syrup and whipped cream. There were no leftovers. Next time, will make the full servings so we can have some for the next day. Thanks for sharing a wonderful treat, MESHEL !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is the second time I have made this. Liked it just fine the first time. LOVED it this time. Replaced the raisins with dried cranberries and added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans to the bread mix. OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I used leftover challah - good bread definitely improves the bread pudding texture and taste! I made the recipe as written except I used butter instead of margarine, and i added the sugar/milk/butter mixture to the bowl with the bread/apples/raisins, and then added the egg/vanilla mixture and stirred it up before dumping it into the baking pan. I made a double batch which filled my 11x17 pan; and I sprinkled cinnamon on top of it. It was so moist and crunchy on top - super comfort food! I didn't bother with the sauce but it didn't need it -it was so good! everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was so good!!! As an alternative to the vanilla sauce I prepared a maple syrup sauce : Boil 1 cup water, 1 cup maple syrup, ½ cup brown sugar for 5 minutes. Combine 3 tbsp softened butter with 3 tbsp flour and gradually spoon in the syrup mix while stirring until it thickens. I didn't change the ingredients except I used butter instead of margarine and prepared it a bit different : combine milk and vanilla, add the bread and raisins, let rest for 5 minutes. Cream butter, brown sugar and cinnamon, add eggs and beat for 5 minutes. Combine this with bread mixture and add apples. I followed another reviewer's advice and placed the dish into a larger water dish for baking. PERFECTION !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myanka_dax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was real good. I added a bit of nutmeg to the pussing mixture and a bit of extra cinnamon and numeg to the top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States