Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I scoured the reviews and here's what I came up with: I needed to use a 9X13 to feed 13 people, so I doubled it, mostly, but kept the brown sugar at 1 cup. I also omitted the raisins. I used about 9-10 cups of whole wheat sandwich bread. I only had two apples, which yielded 2.5 cups, diced. I sauteed them in butter for a few minutes. Then I heated all together: 3 cups 1% milk, 1/2 cup half-and-half, 1 cup brown sugar, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp allspice, 2/3 cup salted butter, 2 tsp. vanilla, and 4 eggs. I sprayed the pan w/ Pam, poured the bread in the pan, mixed the apples in evenly, then poured the warm milk mixture over it all and made sure all the bread was really wet. I baked it at 325 for an hour and it was perfect. If my family all liked nuts I would definitely put chopped walnuts in here. Here's the clincher, though: I made an easy caramel sauce (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Salted-Caramel-Sauce/Detail.aspx?prop24=RD_RelatedRecipes) and poured it on top of the bread pudding while it was still warm, but not hot. It was amazing. The sauce was sweet and the BP wasn't super-sweet, which was nice! Served it with homemade whipped cream. Even people who had no interest in bread pudding were having seconds. Next time I want to make it with chocolate chips and sliced bananas, omitting the cinnamon and allspice... Good basic recipe! UPDATE: made this 3x's in one week. Challah makes a world of difference! ALso, be sure not to 'cook' the milk/egg mixture, just warm it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Very nice recipe, easy to prepare and everyone loved it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It was tasty! I didn't make the sauce because I didn't feel like making it at the time but I don't see why I'd bother making it in the future seeing as how good it tastes without it. Will go back to this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I had 3/4 of a French loaf I need to use and a Belle's Hamburger Bun that I made and didn't want to waste. I also only had a granny smith and a couple of other apples. Other than that I followed the recipe. the taste like Grandma made it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Best bread pudding I ever had. I made it as written, except I added a little more cinnamon and some pumpkin pie spice, as someone suggested. Next time I would either use cinnamon bread or add triple cinnamon. I would not bother with pumpkin pie spice next time. I did place a pan of water in the oven like I do for cheesecake. It helps to keep things good and moist. I did not make vanilla sauce because I had a very good vanilla ice cream on hand that I melted in the microwave and poured over top of the finished pudding. The pudding baked for 45 min. Everyone @ the church breakfast loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. Followed recipe exactly except substituted raisins with dried cranberries. If you have to share the end result, you will not want to; you will want this all to yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wingslady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
To make a Caramel Apple version, omit the raisins, and add chopped walnuts or pecans to the recipe. Instead of making the sauce, drizzle with caramel ice cream topping after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
LOVE IT!!!! Made a few changes. Omitted raisins (daughter does not like)and used challah bread. Followed some of CATJENKINS suggestions; sauteed the apples in some butter, added to the bread. Melted butter in the pan in oven. Then heated milk and brown sugar with remaining butter and cinnamon. I added that to the bread/apple mixture. I beat the eggs with vanilla. The bread mixture was put into prepared pan and I poured the egg mixture over it, and then blended it to avoid the scrambled egg that others discussed. At 350* it took only 40 minutes for it to be set. I did not make the sauce, instead made cinnamon whipped cream. DELICIOUS!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was a great recipe! Really delicious. I didn't have fresh apples in the house, so I used a can of apple pie filling, and cut back on the sugar. Excellent results. Putting this in my permanent recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yola
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I just reduced the sugar coz i was affraid it would turn out too sweet and yes it tasted soooo goodd!!! My hubby loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States