Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I didn't read the reviews and panicked after my bacon was already bathing in the chicken broth. I still think it turned out well. I added a little cream cheese and jalapeño powder for a richer flavor. If I would do anything again I'd actually add more corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
We really enjoyed this soup. I've had a tried and tested corn chowder that I've used for years so I was rluctant to try a new one. I am so pleased that I gave this a try. I tink the secret is to cook the vegetables with the cream corn. At first I thought that was a missprint but it is the secret. We found it thick enough so didn't have to add flour paste. Give this a try , you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This chowder was excellent! Based on on other reviews I made a few changes. 1) whole pound of bacon! I cooked this at the beginning but didn't add it in until serving so that it would still have some crunch. 2) Used fat-free evaporated milk to save some fat and avoid the milk separating. 3) I used corn starch instead of flour to thicken. I made this for a soup cook-off at work and one first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I baked bacon and it wasn't as crispy as I would have liked it to be. But very tasty and I plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
The recipe was easy to follow. I use bacon end pieces since these are thicker and I find they have a better flavor. I added 1/2 in 1/2 since it doesn't separate like milk. For seasonings I added celery salt and thyme along with the pepper instead of salt, to give it a nice country flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Came out good . I also took the bacon out and used to garnish individual servings . My wife even enjoyed it . She told me she does not like corn chowder .she sure did eat a lot of it for not likening it. I will make this dish again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Tried and true recipe, I make it exactly as the recipe calls for except I omit the bacon (it gets all rubbery and gross). Also, definitely use butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlyIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
My family loved this, I followed other suggestions and used evaporated milk and left out the butter. I also added my own twists and used fresh sweet corn (4 ears) and added 2 small salmon fillets (no skin, cut into chunks), and it added a great layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Comes out great every time. It is a crowd favorite for sure. We serve with a sprinkle of cheese and green onion and a dollop of daisy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I love this recipe..added a dash of tabasco....used half and half...used fresh corn off the cob for the kernals...and used my crockpot. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FBH
Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States