Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Its always disappointing when a recipe gets high marks but the reviewers suggestions are what REALLY make the difference. This could have easily been a 5 star recipe had I read through half of the reviews. The two key issues I had with this recipe: Calling for milk. It should just be changed to half and half or cream - because the milk seperates - which is not at all appetizing. Having the bacon in from the beginning. The result is almost like an uncooked texture by the end. It should be cooked, kept aside and almost added as a granish upon serving. Leaving the bacon fat in at the beginning stage will impart the flavor and not sacrifice the bacon's texture instead. Granted - I should have instinctively not done both of these things - and will amend if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wow, this was an amazing corn chowder! I did make a couple changes: I cooked the bacon in the soup pot until it was crispy, then removed the bacon and sauteed the onion and celery in the bacon fat. I crumbled the bacon and added it back at the end to keep it crunchy. I found I didn't need to dirty two pans for cooking the bacon and then simmering the soup. I omitted the butter and definitely didn't miss it! Also I drained the can of whole corn and I peeled the potatoes (it wasn't clear in the recipe if I should). All in all, the best corn chowder I have ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I used butter in this recipe instead of margerine and I also used homemade chicken broth and evaporated milk instead of regular milk (the reason for using canned milk in this recipe is it doesn't seperate when cooking which regular milk will do). The thickness was spot on. After tasting it, I did add a few spices but there wasn't much adjustment needed. I made Bacon Cheddar Muffins to go with. This was a nice, filling dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
some previous reviewers are saying this chowder is bland....here is the way i did it and it was not bland at all...sub half and half for milk, use good quality chicken stock (wolfgang puck makes a decent inexpensive one)I added a splash of low vinager high heat hot sauce and some smoked paprika. also instead of a flour paste(?) I made a cooked roux with the grease from the bacon probably about a quater cup of flour or maybe more for a rich chowder. The way the recipe reads it is very thin. add plenty of salt too. try and see whats up..yum yumm very good base recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redheadedchef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Honokaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
I have been trying to find a good corn chowder recipe and I happened to think this one sounded the best. As it turns out, this soup was absolutely excellent. I have never made corn chowder before but I have eaten a lot and I would rate this as one of the best I have had. I did change the recipe a bit by adding garlic in with the onion and celery and using cream instead of milk and omitting the flour. Also, next time I will brown the bacon all the way before adding the veggies. However, all in all this recipe was great. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Yummy!!! In reading the reviews and then the recipe again, it calls for 4 cups of broth = 2 CANS... Before catching this, I used 3 cans! I also used the frozen corn as others stated as well as half & half instead of milk. I added the flour to the half & half to thicken it too. Next time I will use all yellow frozen corn, the white made it a bit too sweet and I will double the celery. Usually not fond of cooked celery, but it was excellent in this soup. Everyone loved it, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I thought it tasted great. I used crumbled sausage instead of bacon and a can of cream of celery soup instead of celery. Very simple :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
Thank you for a delicious recipe. I made it today and I LOVE it. The only reason I changed anything was to make it vegetarian. I left out the bacon and used vegetable broth. I also cut the fat a bit for health reasons by using skim milk and light butter, leaving out the bacon helped with that too. Nutrition changed to 142 cal, 1.9g fat, 0 cholesterol, 4.82g Protein, 599mg sodium and 2.2g fiber. The soup came out very creamy, better than most I have had out at restaurants. Thanks again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This was a good chowder. I would suggest to cook the bacon separatley and add it in right before serving, this way it doesn't get too rubbery. I sauteed the onion and celery first and then added the chicken broth. Then I added the potatoes and carrots. I only used 3 small potatoes and threw in a large red bell pepper. After the veggies were tender, I added the milk, then the flour mixture, then the corn. I used the canned cream corn and 2 cups of frozen white corn. I added dill weed and garlic powder. Served with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This is a great recipe! Very flavorful, creamy, and perfect consistency. I made it for a party of 100 people and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States