Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was my first time making any kind of chowder. The recipe was easy to follow and turned out great. I would have found a little more guidance with the flour at the end helpful. We had these dumpling-like things in the chowder from the flour but they were not bad tasting. I just think that I must not have done it all the way right. Oh and, I will save the bacon for the top next time. It lost some the favor and texture that I love about bacon. Other than those two things, the chowder is absolutely delicious and we will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Bondarenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wow!!! amazing on a chilly fall night! Good thing it made plenty of leftovers cuz we ate it 3 nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth James, Midwest Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I, too, made a roux by adding 1/4 cup of flour to 1/2 of the bacon drippings. I added 1 tsp. smoked paprika, 1/2 tsp. parsley flakes & 4 slices deli honey ham, diced. I also drained the bacon after cooking & added it as a garnish to keep it's crunchiness. After all that it was a really delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very easy - I did add some spices, whatever I had on hand. I made a chicken pot pie with the leftovers. I added some shredded rotisserie chicken and stuck it between two rolled pie crusts. Easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I only gave this four stars because I like chowder to be thicker. Changes I made was made a roux with 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup flour cooked for 1 min then add 2 cups milk. I also add some shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My son came home on leave and said he wanted me to make corn chowder, he had tasted it at a friends house up in Washington State, I had never made it before, but thought this recipe looked like something our family would like. We LOVED it!!! I made some little changes, I used half and half and I cooked the bacon in the oven, added the crumbled bacon to the soup and as a garnishment. I sprinkled the bacon ontop of some grated cheddar cheese, right before I served it. With some french bread it was a really great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I made a few changes.....I didn't have any broth so I used chix bouillon.I also had a hard time getting it to thick'n up.It tasted really good,but not sure if I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystle_Tollett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Most Excellent!! Although I used cream instead of milk and crisp cooked the bacon from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I picked this recipe( never made a corn chowder before) since it seemed like the easiest one that I could play around with. I learned a couple of things while doing so: 1) I love spicy foods so I thought it wouldn't hurt to add a pinch of chilli powder, but I would not recommend it; it overwhelms and doesn't match with the soup. 2)Water was fine in lieu of broth, but if you use the liquid in the cans, cut it down from 4 to 2 c. 30I only had regular corn, no creamed style, and it was still fine. 4)If you do puree it, don't add the carrots; the carrot flavor dominates then. 5)I used milk and it was fine. 6) Omitting the bacon and sauteeing in a little oil is still great 6)Next time, I'll try it without the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I used one more can of corn than called for, and heavy cream instead of milk, b/c I like a thicker chowder. This is a great recipe for cold days, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc's Wife 07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States