Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I picked this recipe( never made a corn chowder before) since it seemed like the easiest one that I could play around with. I learned a couple of things while doing so: 1) I love spicy foods so I thought it wouldn't hurt to add a pinch of chilli powder, but I would not recommend it; it overwhelms and doesn't match with the soup. 2)Water was fine in lieu of broth, but if you use the liquid in the cans, cut it down from 4 to 2 c. 30I only had regular corn, no creamed style, and it was still fine. 4)If you do puree it, don't add the carrots; the carrot flavor dominates then. 5)I used milk and it was fine. 6) Omitting the bacon and sauteeing in a little oil is still great 6)Next time, I'll try it without the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I used one more can of corn than called for, and heavy cream instead of milk, b/c I like a thicker chowder. This is a great recipe for cold days, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc's Wife 07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I have made this AMAZING Corn Chowder a number of times for my partner. Her childhood favorite as her Granny made it for her. This absolutely came close to Granny and has become a favorite Good for The Soul Soup. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Extra Bacon Garlic Salt Sweet Baby Carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SepulvedaMom
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
As is this is a 3 star in my book, just okay. I ended up adding a lot of spices and herbs, some cheeze, and an extra can of creamed corn and it was a lot more flavorful. But without these Im afraid its rather bland. With these additions, it is very yummy and will please the company and could be a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hansson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is real comfort food, my lads all loved it. Yes, I made it with half the broth, but found that I needed to add a bit more later on in the cooking. Apart from that the only change I made was to add parsley and Thyme, just because we like them. Thank you for sharing this tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Awesome! Don't want extra fat? You can use skim milk and then a potato - not half and half - to thicken. Boil one extra potato, puree, add in broth until it creates a slurry. Add to soup as thickener. Reserve the bacon for a topping - consider adding chopped green onion for a topping, too. Kids like to add shredded cheddar cheese as third garnish. I still use flour and otherwise follow the recipe. Very wonderful and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wow, this was an amazing corn chowder! I did make a couple changes: I cooked the bacon in the soup pot until it was crispy, then removed the bacon and sauteed the onion and celery in the bacon fat. I crumbled the bacon and added it back at the end to keep it crunchy. I found I didn't need to dirty two pans for cooking the bacon and then simmering the soup. I omitted the butter and definitely didn't miss it! Also I drained the can of whole corn and I peeled the potatoes (it wasn't clear in the recipe if I should). All in all, the best corn chowder I have ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I have another corn chowder recipe; this one is as good as the old one. I used half and half instead of milk. 11/2007
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Its always disappointing when a recipe gets high marks but the reviewers suggestions are what REALLY make the difference. This could have easily been a 5 star recipe had I read through half of the reviews. The two key issues I had with this recipe: Calling for milk. It should just be changed to half and half or cream - because the milk seperates - which is not at all appetizing. Having the bacon in from the beginning. The result is almost like an uncooked texture by the end. It should be cooked, kept aside and almost added as a granish upon serving. Leaving the bacon fat in at the beginning stage will impart the flavor and not sacrifice the bacon's texture instead. Granted - I should have instinctively not done both of these things - and will amend if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States