Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is an Awesome Chowder. I modified the recipe slightly by sauteing the onion, carrot and Celery in the bacon grease, and adding minced clove of garlic. All gooking was done in 1 pan - a Dutch Oven. I also used 1 can of condensed milk and topped off with enough regular milk to make the required 2 full cups. Additionally, I made my own chicken stock, and used that. It's a longer overall process, but worth the effort. This version was an instant favorite in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe! I changed a couple of minor things. I fried the bacon and removed before sauteing the vegetables. I used the crumbled bacon on top when serving. I also added some cooked diced chicken to "beef" it up a little for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
only 4 stars because i followed other's suggestions with using half and half instead of milk and adding the bacon at the very end and adding some garlic to the veggies in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MalElaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Try looking at food network, there is a simalar recipe on there by Ina Garten. This one is a little lacking in good direction! I loved the idea of a previous reviewers idea about making a roux instead of the flour slury! The chowder is very good!!!!! DO NOT ADD BACON UNTIL THE END OR IT WILL GET SOGY! I love this site, but trust me, look at the Ina Garten one and compare notes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Nice soup on a cold, windy day! I left out the celery and sauted the onion and a few tablespoons of garlic in the bacon drippings. I added some extra flour/water because I prefer a thicker soup. It's definitely good though I might try a different chowder recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Good corn chowder. After cooking the bacon, remove from pan, crumble and reserve till the end to put it back in the soup. I also added garlic to the onion and celery and used creme instead of milk and omitted flour. I added chopped chicken and a cup of cheddar cheese. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was my first time making any kind of chowder. The recipe was easy to follow and turned out great. I would have found a little more guidance with the flour at the end helpful. We had these dumpling-like things in the chowder from the flour but they were not bad tasting. I just think that I must not have done it all the way right. Oh and, I will save the bacon for the top next time. It lost some the favor and texture that I love about bacon. Other than those two things, the chowder is absolutely delicious and we will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Bondarenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wow!!! amazing on a chilly fall night! Good thing it made plenty of leftovers cuz we ate it 3 nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth James, Midwest Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I, too, made a roux by adding 1/4 cup of flour to 1/2 of the bacon drippings. I added 1 tsp. smoked paprika, 1/2 tsp. parsley flakes & 4 slices deli honey ham, diced. I also drained the bacon after cooking & added it as a garnish to keep it's crunchiness. After all that it was a really delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States