Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Nice soup on a cold, windy day! I left out the celery and sauted the onion and a few tablespoons of garlic in the bacon drippings. I added some extra flour/water because I prefer a thicker soup. It's definitely good though I might try a different chowder recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Good corn chowder. After cooking the bacon, remove from pan, crumble and reserve till the end to put it back in the soup. I also added garlic to the onion and celery and used creme instead of milk and omitted flour. I added chopped chicken and a cup of cheddar cheese. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was my first time making any kind of chowder. The recipe was easy to follow and turned out great. I would have found a little more guidance with the flour at the end helpful. We had these dumpling-like things in the chowder from the flour but they were not bad tasting. I just think that I must not have done it all the way right. Oh and, I will save the bacon for the top next time. It lost some the favor and texture that I love about bacon. Other than those two things, the chowder is absolutely delicious and we will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Bondarenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wow!!! amazing on a chilly fall night! Good thing it made plenty of leftovers cuz we ate it 3 nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth James, Midwest Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I, too, made a roux by adding 1/4 cup of flour to 1/2 of the bacon drippings. I added 1 tsp. smoked paprika, 1/2 tsp. parsley flakes & 4 slices deli honey ham, diced. I also drained the bacon after cooking & added it as a garnish to keep it's crunchiness. After all that it was a really delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very easy - I did add some spices, whatever I had on hand. I made a chicken pot pie with the leftovers. I added some shredded rotisserie chicken and stuck it between two rolled pie crusts. Easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I only gave this four stars because I like chowder to be thicker. Changes I made was made a roux with 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup flour cooked for 1 min then add 2 cups milk. I also add some shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My son came home on leave and said he wanted me to make corn chowder, he had tasted it at a friends house up in Washington State, I had never made it before, but thought this recipe looked like something our family would like. We LOVED it!!! I made some little changes, I used half and half and I cooked the bacon in the oven, added the crumbled bacon to the soup and as a garnishment. I sprinkled the bacon ontop of some grated cheddar cheese, right before I served it. With some french bread it was a really great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I made a few changes.....I didn't have any broth so I used chix bouillon.I also had a hard time getting it to thick'n up.It tasted really good,but not sure if I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystle_Tollett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Most Excellent!! Although I used cream instead of milk and crisp cooked the bacon from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States