Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Ok so following many others I did what was suggested. I browned my bacon first, then removed from pot and saved for the end. I then browned my onions and celery also using a few dashes of garlic powder(or fresh if on hand). I then added my stock after about five minutes and then proceeded with the potatoes and carrots and a can of creamed corn, I let this boil for a bit and another burner warmed up about a cup and a half of half n half. Once I added my cream I then added about a cup of frozen corn as I think it has a much better flavour than canned. And to thicken I did not use a roux but instead keep these perfect little portioned packages of dehydrated mashed potatoes(the kind you would add your butter and milk too...) I find these are a much better thickener and have the yummy taste of potatoes as opposed of a floury taste. I seasoned with some crushed black pepper as it did not need salt. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikail82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Loved it! I will make it again. Enjoyed knowing I had the health of some vegetables, some some "man" heartiness with thickness and the bacon (and I added diced chicken). Very filling, didn't need more than one bowl. Followed others suggestions of half and half instead of straight milk (although milk would be the healthier option). Muy bien!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Ok. Good not great. Might have been better with fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I was amazed at how easy this recipe was to make. It was the first chowder I've made. I did make some changes, based on the reviews, though. I cooked the bacon and then put it aside, to be used as a garnish later. I used the bacon fat to cook the chowder and keep the flavor. Then I used half-and-half instead of the milk. It turned out nice and creamy...perfect for a cold Texas night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
AMAZING!!!!!!!! The only thing I did different was instead of 2 Cups of milk, I used 1 Cup of 2% milk and 1 Cup of heavy cream........Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I really liked this recipe. It definitely allows you to season it up the way you want... was really bland for my family. I followed a reviewer's advise and used Hot Sauce/Buffalo Wing Sauce for flavoring right into the chowder. I froze some for later and can't wait for a cold blustery day to pull it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KirstenNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Delicious. I too cooked the bacon and set it aside for later as a garnish and used half cream and half milk instead of all milk. I still used the bacon grease to cook the celery and carrots. I would say it could use another can of corn, or better yet, frozen corn. Another thing I would say it needs is more kick, or spice. I added paprika, garlic salt, chile powder and a bit of season salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
excellent. only changes were that I substituted half of the milk for half and half (don't think both cups need to be half and half) and added an extra can of creamed corn-- as some said it wasn't creamy enough. used some leftover smoked bacon- and let it all sit on low for 3-4 hours after was cooked through, to blend soup. excellent. you could spice it up a bit with some peppers or spice- but I thought it was good as is. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was easy to make and quite tasty! Only small changes I made were to cook bacon first and add back in at the end and I used half and half instead of milk. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is the chowder my grandmother made. I remember hear making this in her farm kitchen in New England in the mid 1900s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States