Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is great soup; very thick and rich. Instead of potatoes, I had some cauliflower I just had to use and it was awesome in it! I also substituted corn starch for the flour and I left out the bacon (not a huge fan). I did use the half and half that was recommended by others, but I think next time I will use just milk with the cornstarch. I think the soup itself is very flexible as far as putting your own twists on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This soup was very good, although I did use some of the suggestions made by other members (hence, four stars). I substituted bacon grease for the margarine, used frozen corn instead of canned and made a roux instead of a flour paste. I also used a can of evaporated milk & about 1/2 cup of cream (substitute for milk). In addition, I added some shredded chicken breast meat. (Didn't notice until I got home from the store that I purchased canned sweet corn instead of creamed corn, so I made my own creamed corn using canned corn & then added it to the soup.) It was tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apples257

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made several key changes--first, I crisped the bacon in the soup pot then removed it and set aside. I used the bacon fat to sauté the celery, onion, celery seed, and some fresh garlic I had. Then I added all the veggies (canned and otherwise) and let them toast for about 10 minutes. I added the flour to the veggies until the flour was toasted and golden (sort of like a roux) and added the liquid. I used evaporated milk and cream instead of milk. Then I added the bacon when it was ready to serve. Everyone loved it and I've made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nakomiKF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Most of the people I served this to LOVED it. Sadly, my main audience was my daughter who thought it was too sweet. I need a recipe without creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I used butter in this recipe instead of margerine and I also used homemade chicken broth and evaporated milk instead of regular milk (the reason for using canned milk in this recipe is it doesn't seperate when cooking which regular milk will do). The thickness was spot on. After tasting it, I did add a few spices but there wasn't much adjustment needed. I made Bacon Cheddar Muffins to go with. This was a nice, filling dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My gang went nuts over this and when my future son-in-law calls something I make "gangster" I know it's amazing!! I made a roux instead of the paste by adding the flour to the bacon and vegie mixture. I also added some cayenne as my family likes things spiced up a bit and because I had it on hand I threw in a couple of cups of shredded cheddar. So delish and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Really good. The entire time he ate hubby kept saying how good it was.:) Changes made-fried bacon, crumbled and saved to put on top of the chowder after it was done. Also used lots of black pepper and red pepper flakes to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Ok so following many others I did what was suggested. I browned my bacon first, then removed from pot and saved for the end. I then browned my onions and celery also using a few dashes of garlic powder(or fresh if on hand). I then added my stock after about five minutes and then proceeded with the potatoes and carrots and a can of creamed corn, I let this boil for a bit and another burner warmed up about a cup and a half of half n half. Once I added my cream I then added about a cup of frozen corn as I think it has a much better flavour than canned. And to thicken I did not use a roux but instead keep these perfect little portioned packages of dehydrated mashed potatoes(the kind you would add your butter and milk too...) I find these are a much better thickener and have the yummy taste of potatoes as opposed of a floury taste. I seasoned with some crushed black pepper as it did not need salt. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikail82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Loved it! I will make it again. Enjoyed knowing I had the health of some vegetables, some some "man" heartiness with thickness and the bacon (and I added diced chicken). Very filling, didn't need more than one bowl. Followed others suggestions of half and half instead of straight milk (although milk would be the healthier option). Muy bien!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Ok. Good not great. Might have been better with fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States