Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Its always disappointing when a recipe gets high marks but the reviewers suggestions are what REALLY make the difference. This could have easily been a 5 star recipe had I read through half of the reviews. The two key issues I had with this recipe: Calling for milk. It should just be changed to half and half or cream - because the milk seperates - which is not at all appetizing. Having the bacon in from the beginning. The result is almost like an uncooked texture by the end. It should be cooked, kept aside and almost added as a granish upon serving. Leaving the bacon fat in at the beginning stage will impart the flavor and not sacrifice the bacon's texture instead. Granted - I should have instinctively not done both of these things - and will amend if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I have made a version of this recipe for years using sausage instead of bacon and using cream instead of the rue. My whole family loves it. Also have made a quickie version using frozen O'Brian potatoes with peppers and onions, works great and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I used this recipe as a base for my own Bacon, Potato, and Corn Chowder! I love that it includes celery and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
We are very fond of clam chowder, so I drained 3-4 small cans of minced clams and added... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This is by far the best potato/corn chowder I have ever tasted. I've made it before for company and there is always compliments. I always serve it with a basket of baking powder buicuts for the perfect rainy day meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Good, better with 1/2 teaspoon dried basil, 2 cloves crushed garlic and instant potatoes to thicken instead of the flour rue. Add some of the bacon grease for flavor, or browned sausage with or instead of the bacon. Adjust salt accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leslie, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This was a really good recipe. My son actually ate it and he's a picky eater. I think next time though I'll just use whole kernel corn instead of creamed corn. Thats a matter of taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Souper! This was sooo good. I didn't do the bacon and topped it with sharp cheddar cheese. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
really good corn chowder. since i never follow a recipe all the way, i did a few things different. i sauted the carrots with the other veggies in a little bacon grease and used leftover ham instead, and added a little yellow pepper i had left over. i cooked the potatoes in the broth with the other veggies before adding the creamed corn and other ingredients.(makes the potatoes a little more tender.) turned out wonderful. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
some previous reviewers are saying this chowder is bland....here is the way i did it and it was not bland at all...sub half and half for milk, use good quality chicken stock (wolfgang puck makes a decent inexpensive one)I added a splash of low vinager high heat hot sauce and some smoked paprika. also instead of a flour paste(?) I made a cooked roux with the grease from the bacon probably about a quater cup of flour or maybe more for a rich chowder. The way the recipe reads it is very thin. add plenty of salt too. try and see whats up..yum yumm very good base recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redheadedchef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Honokaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States